We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend trip”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #11 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice weekend trip”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Hotel Fita is located in a lovely part of Amsterdam, right near the Van Gogh Museum. It's easy to get to from Central Station (1 block from the #2 or #5 Tram stop). I later learned (from the hotel) that there is a quick bus between the airport and hotel - only 4 euros on bus #197 (or maybe it's #196).

The hotel was small and intimate - very nice and the owners were very friendly. A delicious breakfast is included in the room rate. My room (#16) was very small (I was traveling from the US to Munich on business and decided to spend the weekend by myself in Amsterdam.) but comfortable. The only downside was that the room was very cold - I needed an extra blanket at night. Clearly the radiator wasn't able to handle the unusually frigid temperatures (14 degrees Farenheit) Oh yeah... bring shampoo! They don't supply it.

Amsterdam is a very walkable city, and the Hotel Fita was within 20 minutes of all the major attractions. I'd stay there again, but would probably choose a larger (and warmer) room.

Room Tip: Room 16 was acceptable but very small. The room next door (not sure of the number) was much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidgrNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    409
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
269
901
173
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is a perfect place especially for a couple wishing to spend a few days and see as much of Amsterdam as possible.
The staff (which is mainly the family owning the place) was very welcoming and eager to provide anything we needed, especially hints, suggestions and directions.
I think ours was the simplest double they have: to be clear, this is not a boutique hotel, but a no-nonsense, well-kept, family run old building which gave us exactly what we needed: a very clean room with a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom a the right price.
The buffet breakfast includes tea, coffee, pastries, fresh and dried fruit, cereals, juices, cheeses, and (freshly prepared) pancakes, scrambled eggs, and bacon... so tasty that we usually had enough to roam the city with only a snack for lunch.
The position is excellent, just outside the canal ring, very quiet, everything is within 15 minutes by tram (lines #2 and #5 just behind the building, #3, and #12 behind the corner, #16 and #24 just across the Museumplein); also it is directly connected to the airport by bus 197 (35 minutes, 4 euro, alight in front of the Rijksmuseum, then 200m down the hotel's street).
Could not think of a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Just remember that there is no automatic heat control, you have to manually open/close the faucet on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dilbert1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

It was not difficult to find this hotel, well thanks to its amazing location! We took the bus 197 from Schipol airport and stop at Hobbemastraat near the Rijksmuseum. You can easily find the street name leading to this hotel, Jan Luijkenstraat.

We were greeted by Martin, the ever so friendly guy!While waiting for our room to be ready, he was so helpful by showing us the places we wanted to go, emphasizing on the shopping districts. We instantly felt at ease! =)

We got room no 14 and it was amazing to the top! Love the warm feelings of the room, clean bathroom (with rubber ducky!), wide glass windows and most importantly, Nespresso machine! How does these guys know I love coffee?? ;)

I will definitely come back again to stay at this hotel. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room no 14. Wide glass windows and a lovely yard for a quick soak under the sun (or in our case, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dihaamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My sister and I arrived early for check-in. Room was immediately readied and we were served coffee while we waited. Any question or request we had was answered immediately always with the warmest of smiles. Even though we woke after the official breakfast hour, we were encouraged to come down and enjoy a very tasty repast. Hotel is clean and every so welcoming. A real Amsterdam find particularly when you consider its prime location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amcglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yellowstone, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The staff was amazing. They were very helpful. The hotel location was so great, close to subway and walking distance to museums. The Breakfast was so great and varied. If you need samthing, it was delivered to you rapidly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,024 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,635 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,810 - ₹ 14,443
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing