We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an extended stay in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prinsengracht Hotel
Ranked #173 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 May 2017

I approached this hotel with some trepidation, as I found some negative reviews that were troubling. Nevertheless, we went with this hotel - which had everything we wanted (canal view, location convenient to but not "in" the center, and included breakfast) - and I'm glad we did. While others complained about their admittedly absurd practice of charging for additional coffee pods in the room, this didn't bother me because I rarely have coffee in the room anyway. The staff were all friendly and helpful. One member even made a call for us to sort out an excursion we wanted to take (Muiderslot via Amsterdam Tourist Ferry from IJburg - highly recommended, by the way) while he was actually temporarily in charge of both the front desk and the breakfast room. The decor could use a bit of TLC or updating, but we weren't there for the decor. We were just looking for a "reasonably" priced room (hotel rooms in Amsterdam are relatively expensive) in a nice location. The quiet stretch of Prinsengracht, steps from both the Rijksmuseum and Rembrandtplein, fit the bill for us. Also, we obtained a far better price directly from the hotel than via online booking sites.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are available at a premium. Choose wisely when booking. Contact hotel to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JinONC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel worked out very well for my solo stay. I felt safe and it was conveniently located. As others have said, the rooms are small but I had all the space I needed and I wasn't there to be in the hotel anyway! And I really enjoyed the view.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank murphey1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

When I made a last minute booking I made a mistake with my email. Apparently, the confirmation email was sent to someone and they cancelled my booking thinking it was a mistake. When I arrived a few hours later after making my booking, I was suprised to find out that my room had been cancelled and rented out. I asked the manager if they would please refund the money seeing how they rented the room out anyways, so no loss of money for the hotel. Although the manager was nice in handling the situation he said they can´t return my money. The manager said if the room was not rented out they would have rented it to me without double charging me, however the room was rented out to someone else and he had no problem charging me. That´s bad management.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank drboycek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
e s, Front Office Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your recent experience with us at Prinsengracht Hotel! Your feedback is very valuable to us since it gives us the opportunity to improve and maintain the high level of service we strive to provide for each of our guests.

How ever I disagree with couple of points which you have mentioned in your review. Regarding the last minute booking, as you might have seen it your self by writing that you made mistake with your email not really true though.
If I remember good you have received the confirmation of the booking from booking.com and the same email was used to cancel the booking.
I did my research regarding this even though you have heard it your self from booking.com no one can cancel the booking if they are not log in to their account.

You might have noticed we are in the middle of the city. I have apologised on the same day for the inconvenience even though you have made this mistake by your self.

Regarding the refund it is been explained to you once the booking is made non refundable there is nothing we can do about it, the policy you have read it when you made the booking.

May be you forgot to mention that we found a hotel for you in such short noticed on the kind day, we did our best and found near by hotel. I even called the hotel for you to hold the room.

I hope that this might help you remember some facts which you have forgotten to put it in the review.

Kind regards,
Mohammad Zazai




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June 2016, the staff were very accommodating, it was nice to have a breakfast included in a small location and the room was well equipped. The view outside the hotel onto one of the canals was nice and the hotel is well located not too central, but not too far and just a short walk to one of the infamous Amsterdam signs and the Heineken Brewery… We enjoyed the hotel and we would consider going back in the future….

Room Tip: Depending on your health the lift is quite slow so bear this in mind when requesting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with three boys. Super friendly staff supply you with maps, and tips on public transportation. Rooms modern in style, beds comfortable. Bath rooms must have been redone recently as they were top modern as well as squeaky clean.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#207 of 375 in Amsterdam
156 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#183 of 375 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 375 in Amsterdam
968 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#189 of 375 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsengracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsengracht Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 4,750 - ₹ 21,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsengracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prinsengracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing