We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un -believable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vijaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vijaya
Ranked #311 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cadiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Un -believable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Having just returned from a 7 night stay here my 1st impression of the hotel was unbeliable and if they hadn,t taken the money via my debit card immediately then I definately would,t have stayed. My single room accomodation was very small although the shower/ toilet area was ok. For the 1st 2 nights I didn,t sleep due to my fear of MICE ( from a recent previous review ) & bed bugs , but as the week progressed I must have got use to it & at least the linen/ towels were changed regulary. The staff were not that friendly although the security & the location was good .

Room Tip: research & read reviews before booking & if theres 1 room left let it go !! theres sure to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadizPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    149
    241
    75
    117
See reviews for
56
125
88
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, small but very clean room, central location and within walking distance of the many tourist attractions Amsterdam has to offer. Would have no hesitation in booking into this hotel again when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GayleAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed for three nights, the room was pretty basic but had everything that was needed. The room was small with just enough room to get in and out of bed but comfy enough for a good nights sleep.
Location was excellent and will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adebrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Good evening.In fact it was great except first night,when it was loud in the street and i couldn't get asleep. Staff was very professional,they changed towels and tissue regularly.
Nice breakfast,tasty.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed at the Vijaya a few days ago, it wasn't The Ritz, but for the price we paid it was adequate for what we wanted (somewhere to put our head down at the end of the day!) After climbing the spiral staircase (so funny after having a few drinks! Our double room overlooked one of the canals and was it was lovely having all the hustle and bustle right outside our very high up window! It was a bit of a squeeze-however, it served it's purpose. The room was clean, the towels were changed during our 3 night stay and it was nice to have our own bathroom, even if we did have to navigate our way past the toilet to get to the sink and shower (pretty squashed). The reception staff were really helpful/friendly and it was open 24hours. The breakfast was pretty pants! the only option was bread/toast (when the toaster was working) cheese, ham, boiled eggs, orange juice and coffee. I would definitely go back and stay again (have already been looking at prices for our next trip!) If you book, enjoy the stay, if you want 5 star accommodation, book 5 star accommodation. :))

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Traspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#244 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#250 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#232 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#280 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vijaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijaya

Property: Hotel Vijaya
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 44, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,589 - ₹ 17,969
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vijaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vijaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vijaya Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing