We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #165 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
kent
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the Botel for four nights and though it was excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and adequate for a base. We only managed to have breakfast once and that too was ok, there is both continental and some cooked items.

We had room 345 which faced out onto the water and had great views of the skyline at night. There is free parking at the hotel which is great as we drove to Amsterdam, the hotel is about 15 mins away from central station via ferry. We didn't have a problem with this just thought of it like a taxi home at the end of the night.

We had a great time here and would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emgems2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    699
    493
    152
    100
See reviews for
179
823
56
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This will be my second review of The Amstel Botel as myself and Wife have just returned from a long weekend break to Amsterdam.

Firstly and to clear the air - I've been reading reviews about the Botel on Trip Advisor and I am amazed that people go here if there expecting the Ritz?

The Botel is a cheap alternative, offering a decent standard of bed and breakfast. As stated, The rooms are not massive. We stayed in room 217 which is located on the reception level, facing the NDSM Werf Pier and Amsterdam skyline...............The Best Side!

Our room consistered of a queen size bed, a small coloured tv, radio alarm clock, wardrobe and drawer space. And a small toilet, shower and sink. Please note that all of the before mentioned are cleaned daily, towels and small collection of toiletries and if you require extra items, pillows etc then just ask. Alarm calls from reception are also bookable. If your flight is a early departure, you can also pre book the shuttle bus to take you to the 24 hour ferry, situated directly opposite Central Station.

Getting to the Botel couldn't be easier. From the airport, catch a train to Amsterdam Central. Once there, walk to the rear of the station, cross over the road and turn left. Next, you need to get on a boat. Head to Pier 1 (Far End), you'll see NDSM WERF. The boat is free and runs every 30 minutes.

The boat does not stop and delivers you directly next to the Botel. "What's Easier!"

Boat timetable for LAST boat only - Fri / Sat - 00.45hrs Sun / Mon - 23.45hrs.

Don't worry if you miss the last boat, catch the ferry to Buiksloterweg - runs every 10 minutes, 24 hours a day. Once over the other side, wait infront of the building directly opposite the landing stage. The Botel shuttle bus will turn up. It's free!

Great Tip! We purchased all our evening meals using Group On Vouchers. I saved a small fortune. We had Thai, Turkish BBQ all-you-can-eat and Indian. I reckon we saved approx £75 GBP on the 3 meals Group On is free to subscribe, just go to there Dutch site and use Google Translate............Easy!

If anyone requires any help with any of the above, please send a message and I will try and answer.

Have a great time, We did! Weather was fantasic for March, sunny ever day.

S + J. xxx

Room Tip: Use Dutch Group On and book your evening meals - We saved a fortune! Try and book rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank doyley196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The only thing negative i can say about this hotel is it was a bit of a nightmare to check in, lots of people and rooms not ready. Its in a perfect location if you dont mind a short ferry ride back and to from the hotel to central station. The free shuttle ferries do stop just after midnight after then you have to get the shuttle bus.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and even had channel 5 on the TV!!
Breakfast was basic but very nice.
Yes the boat does rock slightly but you do get used to it.
I will most definitely be returning this year.

Room Tip: email the hotel prior to your visit and request a water side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambyth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We visited Amsterdam in February 2012. We stayed at the Amstel Botel and it was better than I expected it to be.

The botel itself is not far from the central train station; there is a free ferry boat that takes you directly to the botel. The ferry boats run until midnight daily and there is a free shuttle bus that drops you off outside the botel after midnight so the service is excellent.

The only downside in my opinion was that we had twin beds instead of a double bed. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed ever but I've slept in worse!The room itself wasn't very big but it was clean with its own shower and toilet which was my main concern.

Breakfast was included in our stay which was lovely! Highly reccomended.

We can't wait to go back, we'll definately be going again this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room as the bookings are twin/double room so you're not guaranteed a double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sexylisa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I booked a mini break (cheap) for my husbands Christmas pressy so whilst not expecting the best hotel this was not what I expected. For the majority of travellers I am sure that for just putting your head down it would be adequate but the 3 star rating is pushing it, for us it was more like a 2. In essence this hotel is basically a decommissioned ferry converted into a hotel on a budget. Our room was very small (that was expected) but the 'bathroom' was joke, you couldn't move in the shower and the shower curtain didn't fit, you couldn't sit properly on the toilet due to it proximity to the sink and the shower - it was a wet room with no space. The décor was very shabby and dated and the TV was a portable - hey small to match the rest of it. The bar area consisted of four tables with plastic chairs and a juke box (that wasn't working when we where there) and a pool table in bad need of re felting. the breakfast was a buffet affair which catered for most tastes but it did put us in mind of being in youth hostel. On the up side the staff were lovely, polite and very helpful. the ferry ride from Centraal Station to the Botel was free and added the fun to the trip. Would I go back there never but I feel that it would make as fun place for the younger generation!!!!

Room Tip: Don't use this Botel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#224 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#286 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#145 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,101 - ₹ 9,443
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing