We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prinsen Hotel
Ranked #228 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shabby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I don't know where the previous recent reviews were from but it's not the place I stayed in! This a shabby hotel with dirty corridors. Very basic rooms with zero sound insulation. Don't go expecting sleep before everyone gets home around 0100 or starts getting up at around 0700. This is a poorly converted set of classic Dutch narrow houses - plasterboard is not enough! I tried 4 different rooms - all were the same and one smelled of human excrement coming up through the wet room drain hole. I asked for a quiet room with a bath and got a noisy room with a shower and that was as good as it got. Breakfast was OK, standard Dutch cold meats and cheese with some plastic croissants and coffee from a dispenser machine. I was working in Amsterdam and not partying therefore no alcohol to help pass out with. 3 nights with almost no sleep was not OK in any way.

Room Tip: Avoid the lift shaft, the front of the building and rooms above reception. Oh and avoid rooms across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s-bartfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    156
    114
    39
    40
See reviews for
54
174
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

room v small but everything was v clean,breakfast was nice but need mor croissants as goin down at 9-9.30 ther was neva any left 4 us l8er risers &was hopin 4 mayb a cuple of pastry choices 4 my sweet tooth boyfriend lol,overal was gud location &value 4 money &wud consider stayin again,thinkin of may if the dosh wil allow &the deal is rite x

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezza122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in the South
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a layover in Amsterdam and all our usual places were booked. It was getting late in the evening, and we searched and searched the Leisplien area, stumbling onto the Prinsen. The night manager was wonderful and booked us a 3 person room for the price of 2 persons, and included the breakfast. Room was fine, though T.V. was tiny and we couldn't figure it out...but we weren't in the room much. The breakfast was filling enough that we didn't need lunch. The location was wonderful, just (5-7 min.) down from the tram stop. One of the best features, a LIFT!! to the upstairs.

Room Tip: If you end up arriving late in the evening, usually hotels just want to make some money off a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trcfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed here for four nights. Yes room was a bit basic and not huge. But it was adequate.Fairly basic breakfast, but again, adequate.Staff were wonderful.
The location is fantastic. Head out the front door and turn left and you just keep going for all the major sights.
Turn right when you exit the hotel and you head for the local scene. Shops restaurants bars etc.
All in all, a good choice for a short stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leightravelclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We had a 3 night stay here & to be honest the hotel (b&b) really was not too bad!
As we spend most of the day sight seeing in Amsterdam the b&b was decent enough to stay in ( for all the time we spent there).
The rooms are tiny but this is normal in Amsterdam. The location is great with everything you need within 5 mins walk.
Breakfast was fine with a nice selection of meats but some nice pastry & more selection of breads would be nice ( just being picky). But overall We were happy & would probably stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragrambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#159 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#133 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Europa'92
#190 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#155 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Property: Prinsen Hotel
Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,061 - ₹ 14,229
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing