We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,230)
Filter reviews
4,230 results
Traveller rating
1,747
1,717
532
146
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,747
1,717
532
146
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep stairs breakfast room anne frank house dam square fresh flowers in the room rooms are small welcome drink your luggage church bells no elevator friendly hotel central location canal view single room yogurt excellent location mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 4,230 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You arrive from the street and have to ring the bell before you re allowed to enter and look at the very impressive(highthwise)stairs but the staff will help you with your luggage so it's not a big deal unless you have leg injury or so. Then you have a complementary drink While they check you in a someone carry your luggage to your room. That was nice! You have a kettle in the room which is great but otherwise, it is a quite old building so the smeel of wood cupboard lingers...I didn't mind but some might dislike it. The room itself was pretty small with not a lot a place to open your luggage on the floor and keep moving around. Also, you have to give back your key every time you leave and then ring the bell and ask for your key when you come back. It has been a while for me and I must say I wasn't a big fan of the control-like system. Overall, I was there for work and this was fine enough for me but you may feel differently if you have different needs and expectations.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The location of the hotel is unique , it's located with plenty of different restaurants, coffee shops , gift shops, and 2 big supermarkets are just nearby by walk, nearby tram station and close to central station where u can take train or MRT.

It has amazing view on the main street, beautiful lake , and 600 years old church ,

The hotel preserves the unique style of Amsterdam , and the breakfast room is just like a museum with beautiful views , the quality of the breakfast is very good .

The staff are fluent in English, very friendly and cooperative , room was very clean and touch of middle eastern decoration was added , the bed are too comfortable that I would like to stay on bed all day,
The hotel also have a small garden where u can enjoy 6 different kinds of beautiful colored birds

I totally loved it. My first choice indeed

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Doaa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The hotel is nearly from all touristic objectives because it is placed in centre of the Amsterdam. We have visited all the objectives on foot, the most far away is the Rijksmuseum, which is about 30 minutes walk away. Room and bathroom was pretty small but very clean and the staff was very helpful. They helped us with our luggage on the stairs, the stairs are very abrupt and there is no elevator. The breakfast is very simple - coffe, orange juice, croissants, butter, toast, cheese and yogurt.
The reception are opened 24h.
Was a nice place for a good vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank adivco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Tiny room, but clean with excellent bathroom. Pleasant continental breakfast room. Very helpful and friendly staff. However, the "lobby" is at the top of approximately 50 steps in a one-person-wide, very steep staircase. Anyone with breathing or other medical restrictions will not be able to navigate the stairs.

They have an odd rule that requires a customer to climb halfway up every day to return the room key when you leave, then retrieve it when you return.

Otherwise, it is inexpensive, well-located and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Beware, lots of stairs!!
You get greeted with a friendly face and all information needed is given to you when you arrive, someone is there 24 hours of the day so you can walk in and out as you please, when you check out they even hold your luggage until you leave!

The room we got given was very simple without a view but we weren’t too fussed about that as we were only there to sleep and shower, complimentary fridge and tv came in handy for the munchies and the rainy days! Room service included and they were very on top of it, you get to come back to a nice clean room!

Breakfast is very simple but great if you just need that bite to eat to start your day, and the cups are very small hehe!

In my opinion the location of this little hotel was perfect as it’s basically in the city centre! Right night to the Anne Frank house and church bells, so if you don’t like hearing loud bells every hour maybe this isn’t the hotel for you!

Would recommend to anyone going there if you like a small simple place to relax after a busy day out in Dam!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Yasmin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews