We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveller rating
1,339
188
26
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,339
188
26
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library bar herengracht canal books signed perfect location beautiful hotel quiet canal room overlooking the canal favorite hotel nine streets beautiful room within walking distance sitting area loved this hotel anne frank house major attractions triple room perfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

My favourite hotel in the world, should I say more? Wonderful XVII century residences, next to each other along the most beautiful canal (Herengracht), to form a memorable place! Friendly, professional staff is definitely a plus. Art and books everywhere. The hotel is located a short walk from Spuistraat (with bars and restaurants), the Begijnhof courtyard, the Bijbels Museum, the Amsterdam Museum, charming mansions and the shopping street Kalverstraat. Forget about Dam Square and the Red Light District, the Ambassade is perfect for those who want to indulge in the real Amsterdam. Each room is different in size, layout and structure, but all are elegant and discreet. Just lovely. Since 2005, I have been staying in twenty different ones and every time it was an unforgettable experience. There are rooms on two floors and even attic type. Some can be reached directly from the concierge hall, sometimes passing through a maze of corridors, for others you need to make use of external doors. Clean, modern bathrooms. Nice breakfast buffet, with baskets of breads and croissants served at the table and omelets or scrambled eggs on request. The hotel has undergone extensive refurbishing, without losing a hint of class and now has a cozy bar and a top class restaurant, Brasserie Ambassade. When I'm at Ambassade, I don't mind the rain: I can stay in and enjoy life.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ToninhoVarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you very much for your many visits to the Ambassade Hotel, it feels like we almost grew into being family. We really appreciate your loyalty and are always looking forward to your return.
Thank you also for this wonderful story on Tripadvisor, that's really good to read!

We can't wait to see you back and hope this will be soon!

Thank you once again, also on behalf of all the colleagues from the Ambassade Hotel.

Eelco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We stayed in this fabulous property for 4 nights in late August. Wonderful rooms, great ambience, superior staff in all areas of the hotel operation (front desk, lounge, breakfast/dining, housekeeping). Convenient location to everything.

Special recognition to Femke (on desk in the evenings when we were there) for going out of her way to help out with a room change - which leads to a point to note when booking with this wonderful hotel. Some rooms are multi-leveled, with stairs to negotiate. If you have vision or mobility issues, you will want to arrange to have a room on one level.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CYOW-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you very much for your visit and also for your feedback. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

The Ambassade Hotel consists of a dozen of centuries old canalside mansions, resulting in each room being different from the other. Indeed many rooms have interior steps that might not suit to everyone, we therefore encourage guests to mention this when making reservations.

Hope we will see you back soon and we shall make sure the appropriate rom will be assigned!

withj kindest regrads,
Eelco Douma,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Very nice hotel, right on Herengracht. We had a deluxe twin, with canal views. Nice size (much larger than most European hotels), and all amenities great. The staff is the star here however - very friendly and helpful. While hotel is on the high side of price, it was worth it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We wish to thank you for your kind words, Susan, especially those towards our staff, this is always so encouraging to read.
And we can't wait to see you back and hope this will be soon.

with best regards also on behalf of all colleagues,
Eelco,
AMbassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The hotel is very charming and clean. The staff was wonderful. They were very attentive and pleasant and dealt with all of our requests quickly and with a smile. We stayed in a suite and it was amazing. A true canal house experience with all the amenities you would want. Just a great place anf I highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear John,

Thank you for visiting and also for these nice words on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy reading you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be visiting again soon!

with best regards from all at the Ambassade Hotel,
Eelco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Ambassade Hotel is a charming and lovely find in the heart of the city.

Staff are welcoming and friendly, rooms are small and cute (although the two-storey stair-cased rooms could pose problems for older guests - the stairs are ever so steep), and the hotel art collection of anomalies of the CoBrA art movement are extremely interesting. Linens and toiletries are high end and the bar and library are lovely.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: 19 was lovely
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wheelie07042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your nice feedback, we only hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back in Amsterdam soon.

Eelco Douma,
AMbassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews