We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #190 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Loveland, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in while in Europe. It is located right on a canal and is very quiet. The hotel has air conditioning and a wonderful full breakfast. The rooms are a little bit oddly shaped, but they have a full bathtub in the roomy bathroom.
The hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance of most of the things you might want to see in Amsterdam.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be more than acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    1,111
    720
    300
    194
See reviews for
269
1,303
179
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We checked into the standard double and it was so tiny we could not open both our suitcases at the same time! Worse still our air con didn't work. It was colder in the corridor than in our room. By midday we couldn't stand it anymore and asked for a change. They responded really quickly and positively. So kudos to the staff but sadly not the rooms!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Well located within easy reach of most of Amsterdams tourist attractions. Our room was a good size and clean although the view was of a brick wall. We expected tea and coffee making facilities in the room but these were not provided. When I enquired at reception about this, I was told that only certain room supplied tea and coffee as standard but I could add it on to our room at a cost of 7 euros per night. I thought this was penny pinching on the hotel's part and it was clear that since we had booked our room as part of a package with DFDS Ferries then we only got the very basic. The breakfast however was good with a generous selection which was well presented and fresh.
I would use this hotel again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: It might be worthwhile costing out how much the hotel charges if booking independently of a ferry pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvItaly2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was a great place to call home for the next 3 days , room small and quite and suited me comfortable although was offered an upgrade which i declined, Interaction with staff and found them to be very accommodating. as mentioned close to all facilities which was a bonus highly recommend this hotel , the only downer is there is no internet in the room However they do provide free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Perfect location of this functional hotel which offers good value for money. Very near all public transport and within walking distance of Amsterdam's attractions. Check-out time is midday but there is left luggage facility.
The hotel rents bikes and scooters for those who are brave enough to compete for road space with the locals.
We were given a room backing onto a small courtyard which unfortunately was used in the early hours of the morning to do some noisy refurbishment work. While the beds are comfortable they are still two single beds put together and not double beds.
Another negative point is the lack of mini fridge and tea making facilities in the rooms. Also it is disappointing that WiFi is only available in the public area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#122 of 368 in Amsterdam
966 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#189 of 368 in Amsterdam
361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,138 - ₹ 18,687
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing