We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Tourist Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #204 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Tourist Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Well located within easy reach of most of Amsterdams tourist attractions. Our room was a good size and clean although the view was of a brick wall. We expected tea and coffee making facilities in the room but these were not provided. When I enquired at reception about this, I was told that only certain room supplied tea and coffee as standard but I could add it on to our room at a cost of 7 euros per night. I thought this was penny pinching on the hotel's part and it was clear that since we had booked our room as part of a package with DFDS Ferries then we only got the very basic. The breakfast however was good with a generous selection which was well presented and fresh.
I would use this hotel again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: It might be worthwhile costing out how much the hotel charges if booking independently of a ferry pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvItaly2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    1,020
    650
    277
    180
See reviews for
243
1,185
159
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was a great place to call home for the next 3 days , room small and quite and suited me comfortable although was offered an upgrade which i declined, Interaction with staff and found them to be very accommodating. as mentioned close to all facilities which was a bonus highly recommend this hotel , the only downer is there is no internet in the room However they do provide free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Perfect location of this functional hotel which offers good value for money. Very near all public transport and within walking distance of Amsterdam's attractions. Check-out time is midday but there is left luggage facility.
The hotel rents bikes and scooters for those who are brave enough to compete for road space with the locals.
We were given a room backing onto a small courtyard which unfortunately was used in the early hours of the morning to do some noisy refurbishment work. While the beds are comfortable they are still two single beds put together and not double beds.
Another negative point is the lack of mini fridge and tea making facilities in the rooms. Also it is disappointing that WiFi is only available in the public area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Booked this hotel well in advance. Prior to travelling emailed to request a room overlooking the canal. Made no promises but said they would put a note on my reservation. Easy to get to from central station (tram 9) straight to Rembrandt square. On arrival staff helpful and informede we had been upgraded to and executive room overlooking the canal. Wouldn't say it was an executive room but it was clean well decorated and suited our needs. We didn't request assistance from staff so can't really comment but they were friendly when booking in and checking out. Great hotel in a great location

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willgreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just returned from an excellent 10 day stay at the Hampshire Eden Hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 1:30pm and we told that our room was ready for us before the 3pm check in time. We were also offered an up grade to one of the apartments because of the length of our stay. We accepted the up grade despite some of the poor reviews of them on TA. We were lead out of the hotel and down the block to the front stairs. There is no elevator so getting our luggage up was a bit of a challenge. Once we opened the door I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the room is a little out dated and there are some stains on the carpet but I've stayed in far worse.

The main room had a table and 2 chairs, a couch, TV, a kitchen with a small fridge and a large front window that opened up to a beautiful view of the Amstel. The bedroom had the most comfortable bed. It was a full double. Not two small beds pushed together. The toilet was in a separate room from the shower and sink. Off of the bathroom a door lead to a small deck/patio. Great for smokers.

There was no WIFI in the room (lobby only) but we could pick up the signal from the patio which was nice. The staff at the desk always helped with directions or recommendations on where to eat. Never ate breakfast in the hotel but had an excellent meal at Brasserie Flo. The piano bar Soprano's always offered the perfect night cap to end to the evening.

The hotel is just off of Rembrandt Square so there is always a lot going on. Many places to eat and drink. Very easy to catch a tram to where you need but everything is really within walking distance. We walked EVERYWHERE! Wander away from the main areas as they can be on the more expensive side.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#178 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#154 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,536 - ₹ 16,849
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing