We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,121)
Filter reviews
3,121 results
Traveller rating
2,424
531
103
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,424
531
103
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bar living room all inclusive concept all inclusive hotel pillow menu canal view lounge area flower market every afternoon wonderful hotel mini bar in the room home from home breakfast was excellent rembrandt square boutique hotel rain shower walked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 3,121 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

The staff is very helpful and accommodating. They happily stored 11 pieces of luggage for us when we arrived early for check-in and at check-out. They were helpful with directions and site-seeing suggestions and very helpful calling a taxi for my 88-year old f-i-l. The staff also patiently answered our pre-arrival questions and made both dinner reservations and airport transportation arrangements.

We had a canal view room and a canal view suite (can accommodate 4 people). Both were spacious, clean and well appointed. Slippers and robes were provided as well as plenty of toiletries and delicious chocolate. The complimentary in-room decanters and mini-refrig were very much appreciated. We also ended up using the free Banks Mansion tote bag. There were also converting in the room to use for our electronics.

The complimentary breakfast had many options and something for everyone. They even had gluten free bread for our daughter who has celiac disease and cooked her eggs in a clean pan.

The lobby with it's various free snacks and drinks, both non-alcoholic and alcoholic, was always a hub-bub of activity.

We'd recommend and definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CANJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear CANJGirl,

Thank you for your review.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your rooms. If anyone has a special diet, we try to get the products as wished. It is very good to read that guests had a good time staying with us.

We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards
Paul Buyser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at Banks Mansion. The hotel room is amazingly very clean and the breakfast is great. However, if you're staying at this hotel try to get a higher floor since there's some noise from the street. We stayed at the 4th floor and did not really hear much noise but our family members stayed on the 1st floor and mentioned the noise level was a bit too much. The location is great and very central. It's only 10 minutes or so away from the museums and other attractions such as the tour company, restaurants, etc.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter_207888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Globetrotter_207888,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to us that our guests feel comfortable and at home. We are located very centrally, which means there are many people around and on the streets. Sometimes this can be a little noisy, but with our double glazed windows, we try to minimize this.

We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards
Paul Buyser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Accommodations were comfortable and welcoming. Staff was most helpful and accommodating. Rooms were a decent size and beds were comfortable. They even had choices of different pillows for your comfort. Bottles of water were available at any time, as well as any alcoholic beverage for no charge. Happy hour was at 5 PM with light bites and any drink you chose to make yourself. Highly recommend this hotel. Good location. Within walking distance to the flower market and restaurants.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Marsha W,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased you highly recommend Banks Mansion! We try our best to make all of our guests feel at home and have them experience the best trip possible in Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards
Paul Buyser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We visited Amsterdam for the first time and were delighted with this hotel. On my booking i had mentioned it was our wedding anniversary and in the room they had rose petals, a little note to welcome us and some chocolates. We also had a canal view even though we hadn't paid for one so I'm assuming this was an upgrade. The room was a reasonable size with a good bathroom and a great shower. There were free spirits in the room and a minibar filled mostly with water and coke. This was refilled each day. The free bar in the hotel lobby was great and very handy as it saved us buying drinks for most of our trip, even though we mostly just took water and fizzy drinks. We didn't really stay for the cheese at 5 p.m. but there were usually crisps available at all times and sometimes biscuits and sweets. For some reason, it seemed that about 80% of the guests were senior Americans. Most of them were lovely and nice to talk to. Some were very loud and obnoxious and you could hear them from anywhere in the lobby whilst they took vast quantities of crisps and cheese. Not something that would stop us coming back, but it was strange how there was such a high concentration of Americans in the hotel.

Breakfast was very nice, with omelettes, french toast and pancakes made fresh to order. And freshly squeezed orange juice. Lots of fresh bread and meats too.

The location of the hotel was great. There was nowhere in the city we couldn't walk to. The Rijksmuseum was about a 15min walk. Ann Frank museum was about 15-20 minutes. Centraal Station was about 20-25 minutes. There were lots of shops and restaurants nearly, from McDonalds to Steak restaurants.

Staff in the hotel were very helpful and spoke perfect English. We would highly recommend staying at the Banks Mansion

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RickyB_RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear RickyB_RB,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very happy you enjoyed your wedding anniversary with us. We always try our best to make sure our guests experience an unforgettable stay.

You are right about our location, we are very centrally located which makes it very easy to visit museums, shops etc. Also, thank you for informing us about the other guests. We are sorry it may have been a little disturbing. Our staff would have been happy to do something about it, you can always tell them you wishes so that they can act on it. For the future, we will look after this more consciously.

We hope to welcome you again!

Warm regards
Paul Buyser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Banks Mansion in July 2018. Our room, while small, was comfortable and quiet and met all of our needs during our stay. The breakfasts were amazing - cooked to order eggs, fresh breads, pancakes, and more. The lobby was a wonderful place to have a glass of wine, some delicious cheese, and to connect with other travelers. Excellent location - we walked to all attractions. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Tina B,

Thank you for your review!

We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff does everything they can to make you feel at home as much as possible. Very good that you liked our breakfast as well!

We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards
Paul Buyser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews