We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“loved this hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“loved this hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We found the Banks Mansion through tripadvisor.com and loved the hotel. The staff was very attentive, the rooms were generous, and we loved the breakfast. Also, we couldn't ask for a better location. We would definately stay at the Banks Mansion and compliment the ownership for their wonderful establishment.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJS308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for the review about your stay at Banks Mansion. Hopefully your positivity will also encourage others to try a visit at Banks Mansion. Also thank you for the great compliment about our breakfast. Next to all great fresh products, our chefs provide you with live-cooking. They will make great omelet’s and pancakes for you on request! Banks Mansion is just located in the middle of the city centre of Amsterdam with all the main sights and squares within walking distance.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    437
    90
    35
    23
See reviews for
281
1,427
127
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

On arrival, I was a little disappointed by the tiny room (everything in this city is miniature) and the small window that you had to stand up against to see the canal - it was meant to be a canal view room. However I did warm to the place, which is very welcoming, has great amenities and most important is in a perfect location near Rembrandtplein.
I wouldn't come here for the free stuff unless you're a heavy drinker - they don't really give out anything else much for free, and I didn't come to Amsterdam for the alcohol. At 5pm they bring out mediocre wine and tiny tiny snacks...in the mini bar they never replenish the one pack of nuts & raisins, but they do have a Nespresso machine, a nice touch. The service is very good, the bed is wonderful, breakfast is fine.
All in all - a good experience. I don't have other local hotels to compare it with, and I might possibly return to this one on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keshet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Banks Mansion. Banks Mansion is situated in a monumental building in the middle of the city centre of Amsterdam, because of that all rooms are not alike and we cannot change much about the rooms. But the advantage of staying in the middle of the city, is that all the main sights and squares are within walking distance. At 4pm we offer a high standard red, white, rose and Prosecco wine with snacks to go with it like the “cheese- and sausage table” and nuts or nachos. This cheese table is very loved by most of our guests.

Thank you again for you review and we hope to welcome you again.

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Booked this due to the reviews on TA and was more than pleased. I did book us a deluxe room, but unsure if I got a deluxe room? ( room 9) there was just enough room to walk around the bed, not anywhere really to store 2 cases, and the bathroom was quite small, Unsure if this was deluxe what a standard room was like?
This is not to detract from the wonderful comfortable bed, room and bathroom spotless, fresh white towels daily and the steam shower was divine. Staff were fantastic and always have a smile!! Breakfast was top notch, with fresh fruit, breads, meats and the option of having a freshly cooked omlette made to order. The staff will help with restaurant and trip booking and booked us a shuttle bus back to the airport for 16 euros each. If I have one moan is that because we were overlooking the street we did not have the option to open the windows for fresh air and had air con instead, however it was also very quiet. Turn right out of the hotel up to Dam Sqaure and turn left to be 5 mins from Rembrant Square full of bars and lovely restuarants. Overall a lovley 3 nights and I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear guests,

How wonderful that you have enjoyed your 3 nights at Banks Mansion! A great ‘thank you’ from all our staff members for the complements about their friendliness and helpfulness. We try to do as much as we can to make our guest have the total hospitality experience. So not to just be there for the guests during check-in and –out, but also with advise regarding things to do and great places to lunch, dine, drink, dance and have fun!
Room number 9 is a Double Deluxe Room and it has indeed the great features of having a comfortable bed, a pillow menu, a rain shower with steam cabin, a Nespresso coffee machine on the room, a fully complementary private mini bar and decanters with spirits. Because boutique hotel Banks Mansion is housed in a monumental building not all rooms are alike. Some are larger than the others, while some have larger bath rooms than the others.

Thank you again for the great review and we are looking forward to welcome you again and show you all the other great rooms at Banks Mansion.

With sincere regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at Banks Mansion and it hasn't changed at all. It's such a lovely hotel in every sense. The welcome from reception staff is second to none. They are all so genuinely friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a suite which was perfect. The room was clean, with a basket containing towels, dressing gown and slippers on the bed. Our bathroom was so clean and roomy with a bath and also a large shower.
Breakfast was fantastic with healthy cereals, fresh fruit, cold meats, fish, cheese and bread. There was also a cooked breakfast with such a lovely lady cooking eggs to order. You can ask for anything you wanted, omelette, fried eggs or scrambled eggs with cheese, onions, ham etc. she even brought our omelettes to our table as we had gone to get some of the buffet breakfast.
We had a problem with the room safe which wouldn't open after we had left our valuables inside. The lovely lady from front desk ( sorry I've forgotten your name!) spent about half an hour trying to open the safe while speaking to her colleague on the phone. He was on holiday but was prepared to come to the hotel to open the safe but fortunately she perservered and managed to open it.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It may be expensive but the free bar in the lounge, the Nespresso machine, free mini bar and decanters in the room are so unusual. More important - all the staff are the most friendly and helpful I have ever met.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear guests,

How wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your first time at Banks Mansion so much that you have returned and again enjoyed all we have to offer.
It does not happen often that we have to upgrade our guests, but we are happy to have made your day with this and that you enjoyed all the features of our Suite!
It is a treat for our chefs of the ‘live-cooking’ breakfast restaurant to hear that the breakfast was so greatly appreciated by you!
We hope the problem with the safe did not bother you too much. I am happy to have been of assistance to you with this problem and that we were able to solve this in time. Our maintenance department has made sure that all safes in all the rooms are running properly these days!

Thank you again for recommending Banks Mansion to friends and family. We are looking forward to be of service during your third visit (and maybe even more!).

With warm regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager Banks Mansion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our second trip to this hotel after first staying and reviewing it in August 2011.
This time we had a canal view room and it was much quieter than the room at the front, although friends with us this year had a ground floor main road room and found it to be very quiet with excellent sound proof glazing.

The hotel staff are still brilliant and very helpful, especially when I left my backpack in a bar one afternoon they immediately phoned the bar for me and had it rescued and put in a safe place for me to collect. Luckily it had not caused a security alert.

There are a few things that have changed this visit, for example there is less in the free mini bar in the room and the breakfast room has been changed around but nothing much else.

We used the lounge a lot this year as it was the ideal place to sit with our friends before and after going out, it really is an excellent idea having the open bar and nibbles always available and now there are iPads available as well as the news papers to check weather or search for restaurants etc.

The room had a very comfortable bed and pillows, and was clean but there are just a few minor things that I noticed like tops of wallpaper beginning to lift, small stains on the carpet and chair and a little damage to the corner of furniture which could have been repaired to keep the room in first class condition.

If we go back to Amsterdam it will be to this hotel there is no reason to go anywhere else, great location, great staff and comfortable room.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to a canal view room we found it quieter but it seems road side on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear guest,

It is very motivating to see that people return to our hotel. Thank you very much for your positive comments towards the team of Banks Mansion. How nice to see that you had brought your friends along, also good the hear that you enjoyed our Living together with its facilities. It is very nice to see that your backpack was found again after help of the front desk team. We try to up date the hotel by placing for instance very handy iPads in our Living, or by changing the breakfast area in a more efficient room. Thank you very much for your notes regarding the rooms. The different departments are working on these points of interest for the last couple of weeks and will continue this for the coming months.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you and your friends again.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,670 - ₹ 26,789
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ostrovok, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing