We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude staff(danny)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New West Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #166 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Very rude staff(danny)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is one hotel i can honestly say haven't got a clue. The party we travelled with had major problems from start to finish, the hotel staff tried to say they hadn't booked for three nights when we did. They stopped the room keys from working then tried to charge €177 for extra night. Be very careful booking with this hotel as they try to add all sorts of extras on top. Amsterdam tax is a standard charge which worked out at about €7 for the three night, so that wasnt to bad, but be careful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hhelen340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    447
    251
    79
    66
See reviews for
173
345
51
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Last week, I stayed in two different rooms (3 nights in one and 1 night in other) of this hotel. During my stay, I found the Hotel to be very good.

Best thing I liked is that it offers a free parking. This means one does not have to pay additionally.

This hotel has decent sized rooms, even by Amsterdam standard. Room has all basics that you find in Europe, except for mini-bar.

From amenities perspective, it has a restaurant and gym as well.

Location wise, I did not find any issues and found this within 10 km of Amsterdam Central. I did not try the public transport, so I cannot comment about accessibility.

Also, staff was welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punitworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I visited this hotel with three friends in August for a two day trip to Amsterdam. On the way to the hotel, the taxi turned into the neighborhood and i instantly though OMG! (we passed a building with windows that had been smashed). However although the hotel is located in the suburbs, I have to say that the area was quite quiet most of the time.

The hotel itself was very nice, and clean with plenty of space. The restaurant/ bar staff and the food was very nice within the hotel, and not too expensive either.

The only downside was the tram journey into Amsterdam center. This took 40 mins, plus another 10 min walk to the tram line. This is fine when staying for a few days or a week, but as we were only there two days and had early morning flights it did take it out of us a bit!!!.

Overall, a lovely hotel and would probably stay there again if staying for a longer trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLGonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

It is out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre, which was nice for us, early thirties travellers. Basic. No tea and coffee making facilities or fridge, mini bar. Wifi was a bit dodgy.
All in all good value for money, hotels are on the whole very expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cayeninc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We visited Amsterdam at the beginning of July for the purpose of being a part of the Sensation White (2nd of July) event. This hotel seemed a reasonable balance between the prices in Amsterdam and the quality they can offer. We were not disappointed at all: the room was clean and the daily cleaning was impressive. Even though our room was at the top floor, they have 2 elevators, so no worries about that. The neighborhood is really quiet, there's a Lidl at 300 or 400 m from the hotel, by the tram lines. Getting to Central station took us between 30 to 40 minutes by tram, which is not much. We did meet a moody weather, really cold nights, but as it turned out, they heating system in the hotel was turned on during those cold nights. One can lend a bicycle from the hotel, cheaper than doing it from Central Station or other parts. We enjoyed our staying at this hotel and I would recommend it, definitely.

Room Tip: Our room faced the inner court or the hotel (the restaurant and the bar), but no complaints about no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4you2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#168 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#226 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Property: New West Inn Amsterdam
Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,282 - ₹ 10,564
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing