We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,856)
Filter reviews
2,856 results
Traveller rating
1,911
669
172
65
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,911
669
172
65
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ciel bleu serre restaurant teppanyaki restaurant michelin starred restaurants health club pillow menu corner room executive floor turn down service de pijp city centre five star hotel top floor junior suite beautiful hotel rooftop bar business trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,746 - 1,751 of 2,856 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This hotel is probably one of the best in Amsterdam. We were here on a business trip and I am sure our temp PA made a mistake by booking us in here, but it was the best mistake she made. We ate at the amazing Tepanyaki restaurant which was picked up by the company and I was throughly pleased with that result.

My colleague born and bred in Essex even liked the food, and his staple diet is "steak and chips" or "burger and chips".

Staff are welcoming but probably because they are getting paid well.

Location is further out from town - so not a place to stay if your after touristy hotspots.

FInally and thankfully - unlike the holiday inn - you dont have to worry about a bloody bike running you over, the bike lanes seem far away here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeeshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I stayed a lot in the Okura in Tokyo, which was constructed by the father of the famous architect Taniguchi Yoshio (MomA New York) and I had not expected that the genes would travel. Yet they do, the place is sophistacted and refined, the staff doing everything you need in a sublime manner. We were invited to a huge dinner in honor of the president of the prince claus foundation, and were inspired by the blend of Asian-European delicacies. Perfectly timed, unusually arranged sashimi, and seafood salads were served on beds of salad of real leafs and algea. The location is not central, it will take you 15 minutes to get to the center however.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jointadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The good points of this hotel are the excellent staff and the quality of the furnishings and amenities in the rooms. But, by its pricing, this hotel is competing at a high level and I felt it fell short in this regard, more 4* standard and it's pricing policy gave the impression of owners/managers looking for every opportunity to fleece their guests. The bad points included
- a very compact room which at 250 euros plus tax, was not worth the money
- a ludicrously expensive breakfast at 30 euros, which could not even claim to show any imagination and included the dreaded sweaty 'buffet bacon'. At this price, I expect flair and/or breakfast to be freshly cooked and plated. The in room breakfast was even worse, comprising hard toast, unpleasant pastries and a boiled egg that was hard boiled. Since the hotel does have high quality (though again, seriously expensive) restaurants, there really is no excuse for this standard
- when I complained, I was offered the alternative 'light breakfast' of a coffee and 2 croissants, for an inflated 15.5 euros, but note they are really aiming to catch you for the higher rate
- an equally ludicrous 17 euros a day for internet access
- a quite unacceptable 15 euros to use the hotel swimming pool, a quite unheard of practise for a core facility, and more akin to the likes of Ryanair's approach
- the main downstairs bar seemed to shut at 10pm
- aircon in the room did not seem to go below 20 degrees, for those who prefer cooler temperatures when they sleep
- to cap it all, I could have got the room 20% cheaper on the internet compared to the conference rate, obviously viewing conference business as a valid cause for more fleecing
If you stayed as a couple, had the breakfast, used the pool and the internet, your actual rate would around 370 euros. Message to the management. Your customers notice these practises, won't ever return and will write reviews like this.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falcon3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Thank you for your comments we will take them in to consideration and pass it on to the Okura team. Please send your contact details to hammer@okura.nl so that we can contact you. Thank you very much. ~ The Hotel Okura Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Stayed here for about a week recently and was not overly impressed by this hotel which should by all accounts be one of Amsterdam's finest. I understand that they are gradually renovating the rooms here. I also understand that the renovated rooms are quite nice as compared to the unrenovated rooms, in which I spent my stay here. Nothing intrinsically wrong with the room other than it was definitely worn around the edges and wasn't what I expected to find when booking my stay. I also encountered some unfortunate security issues with an attempted break-in into my luggage when I was away. In fairness, management was responsive in addressing the issue and, fortunately, nothing of value was lost. But it was just something that I have never before encountered in a 5-star establishment. The other things that were unnecessarily aggravating were the 15 euros charge for use of the gym and the 17 euros daily charge for internet access. Really?? When I'm paying over 300 euros a night to stay here?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmcdono908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

5 star hotel with 5 star prices but without the service/delivery you should expect. You can get better value for money elsewhere.

A few issues:

1. Rooms not ready for check in until 1800 - "you can change in the health club sir"
2. rooms only cleaned around 1700 - working in a dirty hotel room most of the day.
3. No complimentary newspaper.
4. Airco broken - had to call maintenance.
5. Master light switch broken - had to call maintenance.
6. Health club - pay extra!
7. Internet - pay 17 euros a day extra!
8. Coffee in room limited to 3 capsules for the machine (value 90 cents).

I could go on but really, at these prices you should expect a bit more.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travellerwithoutname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews