We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,855)
Filter reviews
2,855 results
Traveller rating
1,910
669
172
65
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,910
669
172
65
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ciel bleu serre restaurant teppanyaki restaurant michelin starred restaurants health club pillow menu corner room executive floor turn down service de pijp city centre five star hotel top floor junior suite beautiful hotel rooftop bar business trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,806 - 1,811 of 2,855 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2009

In October of 2008, we held a conference at the Okura hotel in Amsterdam for approx. 75 colleagues and 30 customers. For KPMG, these conferences are a recurring event, and the standards were set high.
Before the actual seminar started, Monique de Wit(Conference and Events Representative), helped us with all our needs and problems. Everything was arranged as we requested. At the seminar itself, every last minute problem was being solved at the spot by Monique and all the other Okura staff.
The food was excellent for everyone from all over the world. The rooms were excellent and although you are near the centre of Amsterdam, the rooms were very quiet.
And although the 3 days were very busy for me and my collegue, it was a great experience. A real five star experience.

Vanessa Posthuma
KPMG Meijburg & Co, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPMGAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Fantastic hotel. Indulge youself in luxury. The staff was really friendly and helpfull. Great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I have stayed at the Okura on several occasions and my wife has attended several conferences held there.

First the good. The service is excellent, one could even imagine your were in Tokyo. The Japanese restaurant on the ground floor has a Michelin rosette and is the best Japanese restaurant that I have eaten at within Europe. The sports centre (gym, pool, sauna) is large and luxurious. In addition it is one of the very few conference venues I know which can serve good food to very large numbers.

Now the not so good. Some of the rooms are a little dated, with heavy dark furniture. They charge hotel residents extra for access to the sports centre - which I find unacceptable. There is a French style restaurant with two Michelin rosettes on the top floor: it has a fantastic view but I found the food contrived and the experience disappointing. If you want to see the well know tourist sites in Amsterdam the location is not good. On the other hand it is close to the RAI and easily accessible by car.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

The room was of a high quality but feeling slightly dated and a bit bland and not up with the best in class. In Hong Kong it would be being closed for an upgrade. The bed was very comfortable and the room had everything that you would expect of a high qulaity business hotel. We had one meal in the brasserie which was very good although due to lack of customers being a weekend it lacked atmosphere. The restaurant staff were very good though. The hotel is too far out if you are a tourist as its a tram or taxi ride into town and takes about 10-15 mins, though convenient for conference/exhibition centre. The reception staff were poor - it took two attempts to get keys that worked and when asked about the airport shuttle they did not know when it ran. Two things that really annoyed me were the fact that they charged £15 per person to use their pool even though we were staying there (that is the first time in 25 years odd of staying in top clas hotels that I have been charged) and their airport shuttle bus is not a shuttle but a private transfer which requires 2 hours notice and is more expensive than a taxi. Somewhere i read that they are trying to be the best hotel in amsterdam - I am afraid that whilst the food may be very good, the location is not great and charging for things that are normally free in any other top class hotel they do not make the grade. There are much better places to stay in amsterdam for business and as a tourist.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Almost every year we have a diner and an overnight for about 130 of our clients in the Okura Hotel. It is not easy to prepare an two Michelin diner for 130 people, but every time it is worth all the Michelin stars that the restaurants in this hotel got. The five hotel stars are deserved and not in the last place because of the frendly and helpful personel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geenidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews