We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Okura for a weekend treat. The price was more reasonable than the inexpensive hotel chain we would have chosen.The Okura was luxurious, the service was impeccable, the two hotel restaurants sensational. The Japanese restaurant had a Michelin star, the French restaurant had two. We enjoyed both meals. The French restaurant was exquisite; we had a memorable meal. To make the weekend perfect, we had a Nespresso machine in our elegant, very spacious room. We are looking forward to our next trip to Amsterdam when we shall stay at the Okura.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    565
    147
    56
    30
See reviews for
312
927
108
647
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Okura for my wife's birthday. On arrival Louis at reception went out of his way to make my wife feel special. The rest of the staff were fantastic and the seasonal testing menu with the complementing saki/wine in the Yamazoto was one of the best meals we have had in a long time. Cannot say enough if in Amsterdam for a special occasion you can't do any better than to stay at the Okura.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Drford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Okura is beautiful, luxurious but with a real warmth in its service. It was my birthday during our weekend at the Okura and got a beautiful card and small bottle of sparkling sake. We also got a room upgrade to a beautiful executive suite. Overall the ambience is that of a luxury ME hotel such as Raffles Dubai.

Louis, the receptionist who looked after us was excellent and so friendly also.

For my birthday my husband took me to the deservedly Michelin-starred Yamazoto where we had the exquisite tasting seasonal menu with complementary wine selection. One of our most memorable meals. The Bento box lunch at Serre is also a delight.

Definitely for our next visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed one night for the IBC conference in September. I chose this hotel because of the great reviews it got.
Although we had a very, very nice room with a magnificent view there were a view glitches - the air con wouldn't go below 21C (was a warm weekend) and our beds weren't turned down for the night - so no dry towels for our morning shower.
The PR did appologise for the above, but at 800Euro a night I would expect perfection.
The restaurant on the top floor - "Ciel Blue", was a magnificent experience in food and service, although our reception was a bit cool to start with...
I have decided to start a cuppacino rating for hotels, so here goes:
Cuppacino room service: *
Cuppacino main restaurant: *****
Cuppacino Ciel Blue: *****

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Based on previous trip advisor reviews, this hotel should be fabulous: and it was! From the moment we walked up and were greeted by the doorman and then reception, we were made to feel welcome. We followed the advice of others and requested a room on a high floor: it was gorgeous, with enormous picture windows overlooking the adjacent canal and the southern Amsterdam neighborhoods. The bathroom was spectacular with a glass walk-in shower, a large tub, and granite surround, all spotlessly clean. One unique feature is the glass wall between bathroom and sleeping area; there is a shade that can be electronically rolled down to provide privacy (the doorman who brings the bags to your room explains the various features). The only downside for us: we had only 1 night to stay and weren't able to experience many of the available amenities!

Room Tip: Better views from rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyMollyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,571 - ₹ 26,082
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing