We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
US$ 348
US$ 323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 295
US$ 240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$ 181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 303
US$ 282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
US$ 379
US$ 357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 518
US$ 444
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,722)
Filter reviews
2,722 results
Traveller rating
1,820
643
165
59
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,820
643
165
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsciel bleuserre restaurantteppanyaki restaurantmichelin starred restaurantshealth clubpillow menuexecutive floorcorner roomturn down servicede pijpcity centretop floorfive star hoteljunior suitebeautiful hotelrooftop barnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
1,552 - 1,557 of 2,722 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

we booked a secret hotel on trip advisor not cheap 200 pounds sterling per night for a double room , what a dissapointment , rooms very average dated and a bit run down stains oin carpets and small.
Foyer clincal and the hotel is for conferences/ buisness and not suitable for anything only work /meetings in my opinion.
Location poor we spent 70 euro per day on taxis in and out of town. It is close to nothing. 23 floors in a remote suburban area I do not recommend this hotel.
Breakfast 29 euro and poor quality after breakfast we wanted to sit out in garden, not allowed unless you buy another drink or food ( we had just had breakfast in hotel in a dark awful dinning room) No fresh air allowed at this hotel .
We tired to cancel our booking when we realised the poor location manager at hotel refused to let us although last minute . com were happy to allow no wonder the hotle had seemd very empty not many folls like us prepared to pay the price .,

He said we were upgarded but our room was poor for that price , we looked a prices for other 5 star hotels in city centre and they were less or similar however their location is far superior and standard higheras we have stayed in some before also and you have no taxi fares to pay as you can walk. We did not eat in restaurant at hotel as we were told by another resident it had no atmosphere and again was very expensive starters 30 euro .

Overall if you are on a leisure, sightseeing, romatic, family trip avoid this hotel at all costs you will be dissapointed .

Room Tip: dont bother with execuitve room very average and a poor lounge .
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bubba91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. The experience you had unfortunately does not reflect the service and luxury we are known for. We will contact you shortly about this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at the Okura for a long weekend trip and really enjoyed the hotel.
We booked the excecutive category as it was on offer. Thew lounge is on the top floor and gives you a fantastic view over Amsterdam.

The Sazanka restaurant in the hotel was amazing and i highly recommend it.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguide08186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very very nice hotel - makes your stay a rea lholiday! Highly recommendable!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Erich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed at the Okura for 5 nights while attending a conference at the RAI. The hotel is a short walk away. We had a large corener room on the 19th floor with excellent views. And my favorite- the windows open! Hotel is quiet, except I kept hearing a bleating noise. I thought ducks in the canal don't do this--sure enough, a school nearby had sheep and goats in their yard--very charming. Back to the room--good bed, excellent lighting. Large desk with chairs on either side so that two people could work simultaneously. Bathroom was amazing. Huge with double sink, seperate tub and shower, seperate WC with of course, Japanese heated toilet seat. Very fast internet (bust pricey). Did not use gym or pool but heard the facilities are excellent.

The lobby is lovely- very serence. Fabulous lighting fixtures in the public areas-- each a workk of art.

Restaurants amazing. We did not eat at the Japanese. The cafe on ground floor was excellent. Had a great 3 course meu for 35 euros- a bargain. Not only did the food taste good, but presentation beautiful

Ciel Blu was amazing--deserving of its Michelin stars.

The executive lounge was a disappointment- very little to offer. Coffee all day. Wine & a few canapes in the evening. Certainly not like Asian hotels.

That being said, go and enjoy.

The restauruants

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renaissancewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

booked through expedia last minute for 3 days. Much needed R+R. All good, lovely room, quiet, staff excellent. Very clean. Until.... the last morning, awoken at 8 am Damn! ( i never sleep in due to work)knock on the door daughter answered. Told her to put do not disturb sign. Awoken again at 9am maid. Did she not know how to read? First disruption was a note about window cleaning taking place that day!!!!!!!. Coudln't they have left the note the day before???? Second was the maid, the floor housekeeper supervisor was there outside the room with the maid when I went down for a smoke (who can sleep after being bothered by pounding on the door??) I asked her why we were disturbed when there was a do not disturb sign the poor maid chimed in to the supervisor 'you told me the room was empty'. This may sound petty but when you are paying over £100 at a supposedly 5 star hotel WHY!!!!!!!!also they did not refill coffee but told us to call room service 5 star uhh? No. 4 and a half maybe. beds are not very comfortable. but quiet neighborhood good security. Far away from the maddening crowds on a canal. easy acesss to town center on the 12 or 25 tram. Staff very polite excellent breakfast but not inexpensive or even reasonable but all in all 5 star food! I just wanted some sleep!!!!! Not my first time at this hotel good value for money. And they have a smoking room in the lobby so u dont have to brave the elements. Nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayfair74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews