We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Disappointment - Uninterested Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #104 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

After a long flight to Europe the last thing that you need is a disappointment at your hotel; especially if you are a Platinum member who supports the Accor brand.

On arrival we checked the address with our driver as this was far from "Amsterdam City" - a very long way out adjacent to a business park.

I will not bore you with details; however we found the "new" room provided in B Tower was nice and new but so small we could not open suitcases without putting them on the bed; the bathroom was "cassette" style - similar to an Ibis Budget hotel.

We changed rooms easily enough, however the older room in A Tower hadn't been finalised from a cleaning perspective - the bathroom had remnants of the guests before us; the bedroom was set up with the lounge rolled out as a second double bed (?) and the main bed came equipped with a torn top sheet. All very impressive at 10PM at night.

So there was no welcome drink, no bottled water and when we questioned the situation we were basically shrugged at the next morning! The attitude was basically "bad luck - tell someone who cares!"

The whole situation was saved by the great bar staff who were incredibly professional - quite amazing and from our perspective saved the whole stay!

The food was good - but be prepared for large numbers of guests at breakfast sittings.

In over 5 years this was perhaps the worst Accor experience that I have had and we stay up to 60 nights a year. Primarily the young front counter staff are quite short on delivering hospitality; we felt shrugged off rather than engaged; however this is more a management issue than a Mercure brand problem.

We hope that the rest of our European stays with Mercure Hotels does not go the same way as this stay did!

Room Tip: Book a "Privilege" floor room and perhaps avoid being disappointed with a very small stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Booked this hotel after I entered the Amsterdam marathon quite late, and this was the only hotel left near the Olympic stadium that wasn't charging a fortune.
What a pleasant surprise this hotel turned out to be. Really handy for everything as it's on the metro line, so we were able to get from the airport, and to the Olympic stadium really easily.
The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms clean and comfortable, with black out curtain and comfortable bed, not too hard.
They did a pasta buffet the night before the race. We thought we should be more adventurous and head out, but after having a look in the restaurant decided to eat there. The food was great, exactly what we wanted. Obviously not anything fancy, but good simple food that was tasty and a good price, much better quality than I was expecting from a restaurant in a mecure hotel.
At breakfast there was a really large buffet, unfortunately no porridge, but I had bought my own, and without hesitation the wonderful staff rushed off to the kitchen and the chef cooked it for me. Terrific service.
The reception area and large bar area are very nice, and there is a well stocked shop that sells everything from microwave meals (microwave there as well) to wine, beer, soft drinks cakes etc, really convenient.
Overall this hotel was so much better than I imagined it to be. I've not stayed at a mecure hotel for a very long time and I certainly don't remember them being this good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenskevanHoof, Management Assistent at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Bridget,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel and staff. Hopefully we will see you again for the next Amsterdam Marathon?

Sincerely
Laura Heeringa
Management Asstistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This is overall a great hotel, the rooms are very nice, good size, service was fantastic and staff very friendly and helpful.
The Mercure is walking distance close to a metro stop, which makes it easy to move to/from the center of town. This also provides an easy access to Amsterdam Centraal and the airport.
This hotel is similar in price to lower quality hotels closer to the city, this and access to public transportation aided in my decision to stay here.
The only negative is that public transportation does not run 24 hrs, so at a certain point you have to plan your way back from the city.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenskevanHoof, Management Assistant at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We, as team of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, are glad to hear you have had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you to our hotel again soon!

Sincerely,
Renske van Hoof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel common areas look like they have been recently refurbished to a high standard giving the hotel a really contemporary feel. Check in was easy (although just behind me a tourist coach had just unloaded so I'm glad I was in the queue before them as there was only one desk option at reception). My room was on the 12th floor and was comfortable. The room could have probably done with being refurbished however there was absolutely nothing wrong with it and I slept really well. I ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I had a burger which in itself was underwhelming however the chips it came with were AMAZING!! I didn't have breakfast so I can't say how that was. Overall I would stay here again as it's a solid hotel with great staff in a great location especially for the Amsterdam Arena.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Clarksboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenskevanHoof, Management Assistant at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Mr. Clarksboy,

Thank you for leaving us such a enthusiastic review on your stay in Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. We will forward your comments to the employees involved as it will motivate them to keep up the good work.

Sincerely,
Renske van Hoof
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Generally ok hotels, far from the city center but close to rai. Metro is a 5 minute walk. Generally the service was good in check in and ok in breakfast although it was very crowded. The rooms are a bit worn and no slippers in the room is a huge minus for a business hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank fivestonesonvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Novotel Amsterdam City
#121 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,925 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,339 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,540 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 6,002 - ₹ 14,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing