We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Spotless.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #137 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location. Spotless.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Excellent base for exploring. Only ten mins walk directly down from Central Station. A haven of tranquility on a really busy street! Not the largest room to move around in but very modern and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We were pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Yes, our location can not be beaten and due to our double-glassed windows the interior is quiet.
We hope to see you again
With best regards
Rene Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    370
    158
    55
    43
See reviews for
86
448
72
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March and I couldn't fault it! Perfect location, room clean and tidy, mini bar was well stocked and a smoking room! Staff were attentive and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We were pleased to learn that you had a great stay at our hotel but are sorry that we have bad news for you. At the end of this year we shall not offer any rooms for smokers anymore. Operational wise it became too difficult to manage the mix between non-smokers and smokers.
We hope that we shall see you again despite this news.

Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel with friends.
Best location in Amsterdam. Close to all services and attractions.
Staff were great.
Quiet and comfortable. Rooms small(ish) but acceptable.
Best value I found in Amsterdam.
Definitely will use this hotel again if I visit Amsterdam.
well done and keep up the great value and quality

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmccorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Many thanks for your review. Yes, we do not have the largest rooms but with the recent renovation of 2 floors and the renovations of the rest of the hotel by the end of the year we try to compensate size by creating a nice atmosphere.
And despite the investment we shall not raise our rates. We hope to welcome you again
With best regards
Rene Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great location in Amsterdam, short walk from the train station (maybe 0.5 miles), right next to Dam Square, and just outside of the Red Light District. Room was easily big enough for 2 people, was clean, beds were comfortable, and no problems with the temp in the room! Our room was located on the side facing Damrak street, with a busy road we figured we'd hear something from out there, but overnight we couldn't hear anything. We could hear some of the other people in the hotel shutting doors and such, but not a big deal. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel, as we wanted to explore the city streets and find a pancake!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expat_in_UK113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
A quiet sleep is appreciated by everyone and with our double-glassed windows we can assure our guests that it will be quiet, even at the front of the hotel
We were happy that you enjoyed your stay with. And we are sorry that you had to explore the city to eat a pancake. We promoted pancakes some years ago but that was not the success we expected so we discontinued it.
Looking forward to welcomng you again
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

we have just returned from a 3 night stay in Amsterdam. we booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. the location is right beside dam square and just 700 m from central station. it is a perfect location for people who are travelling to tour and view Amsterdam. the staff at reception are very helpful and efficient. the rooms are on the small side but very comfortable but then we were not there to sit in the hotel all day. there was both smoking and non smoking rooms. the rooms were cleaned everyday and the facilities were modern. it had a a mini bar and kettle with tea and coffee available. the beds were very comfortable and in total this hotel met all the reviews that had been written. thank you Hotel Amsterdam for a lovely city break. you deserve your good reviews.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We were happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We presume that you had one of the renovated rooms as you describe that the rooms were modern. Renovation will be continued this fall and will be ready for all rooms at the end of February 2013.
We hope that you will pay us a visit again.
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,518 - ₹ 24,607
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing