We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #74 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I was surprised how nice the hotel was considering the price. We payed less than 100 Euro for both people and the hotel was very nice. Very nice water pressure and temperature. Very quite rooms since most are not street facing. The location was tricky to get to from Centraal station for us, but that's because I was shot from partying in Brussels. I didn't realize that the tram went straight there but we took the train instead. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. It was also in a great location to one of the public squares (Rembrandtplein) we went in the winter and they had a really cool Christmas market there that was alot of fun. Also in the Rembrandtplein was Smokey's that place was a lot of fun with tourists from all over Europe and other places. Funny music videos and chill atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    1,121
    375
    133
    65
See reviews for
321
1,325
177
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Our family stayed in this hotel during our week in Amsterdam. Staff was wonderful!!! Room was clean and spacious!! Location is awesome!! My son (who has stayed in MANY hotels) dubbed this hotel one of the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room which I think afforded us more space and a great view. The price per nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

In my third time in Amsterdam, I wanted a good hotel.The Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden is a 4 stars hotel , but to my disappoint­ment the room was similar to a hotel 2 stars...The decoration was average, the bathroom was small (only one person can stay...) and no view (just ugly rooffs..). And you can't use the the frigobar unless a deposit is paid (+- EU 50,00)!!
Good things: the staff is friendly, the area is great, the bed is soft, the details (towels, soap,) and are good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRISTYRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Situated in Leidseplein the Amsterdam American is ideally located for anyone looking to stay in an area with a lively nightlife, but away from the red light district of Amsterdam. The hotel is by Leidseplein square which has a great selection of bars/cafes, and has a good atmosphere during both the afternoon and the evening. The hotel can be easily reached from the airport by the 197 bus, which is only €4 and stops right outside the hotel. Trams 1,2,5 can take you to Dam Sq, Medieval Centre and Centraal Station, so perfectly located for sightseeing. The hotel staff are helpful, and provided us with a map on arrival. We booked a Classic American room, however after reading reviews i emailed the reservations desk and requested a room with a balcony overlooking the canal, as these rooms are located at the side of the building and are quieter at night. I recieved a prompt reply, and the rooms were reserved as requested with an additional charge of €30 per night. Personally i thought it was worth the additional fee as the balcony view was great, and was a nice spot to sit in the sun early evening. The room was spacious, and had a very comfortable king size bed. The architecture of the hotel is of a high standard, and the cafe looks fantastic, a real stand out hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garet_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Third time weve stayed at the Amsterdam American and again it did not fail. We use it as a base to explore Amsterdam but you could spend longer in the hotel as its sooo nice. The Cafe American Bar is great, lovely cocktails and friendly staff. We went for brunch in the cafe and it was pricey but couldnt be faulted. Rooms are well equiped, clean and comfortable. location is ideal - close enough to get to everything and right on a canal but far enough for a more relaxing feel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelylezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#63 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#33 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#116 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,933 - ₹ 21,425
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing