We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location but thats it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #151 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location but thats it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is smack in the middle of Rembrandt square. You are a few steps away from great restaurants and some great attractions.

The hotel looks good from the outside and walking in, you get a feeling of the old dutch grandeur. The rooms are quite roomy as well, with great views of the square.

However, you pay for internet and a lot. It is 18 euros for one day of internet, and that is just ridiculous. Mobile internet (iPad included) is 8 euros. In this day and age, I don't get how high end hotels continue to charge for internet.

Moreover, my bathroom smelled really bad. I was there for two nights, but I didn't want to bother changing rooms. I did regret it on the second night, but what is amazing is that the cleaning staff didn't smell it and address it.

There is no air-conditioning in the hotel, so it might not be comfortable in summer. I was there in March and it was hot in my room, enough to keep me up at night.

The bed is not very comfortable and it was two single beds put together.

While I didn't order room service (you don't need to with the Burger Bar, and Wok to Walk a few meters away), the menu didn't have anything to tingle my taste buds.

So I advise passing on this hotel. In my opinion, it was not worth it. There are cheaper, better alternatives around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faisal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    534
    281
    105
    57
See reviews for
134
587
82
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very nice hotel. Clean rooms, good breakfast, excelent location!!! In a few minutes you are everywere in the city. Personel is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The NH Schiller is located in Rembrandtplein in Amsterdam. The square itself is a little loud and seems to cater to the club scene on the weekend, however it is the perfect location! Central to everything, surrounded by plenty of coffee shops, cafes and the tram line. You can literally walk to all the major attractions within 15 minutes. The hotel staff was very professional, friendly and fast. The rooms are decent sized, exceptionally clean and very comfy! I would absolutely stay here again! We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, but did try a few on the square and had great experiences. Walk down the canal about five minutes to the nieuwmarkt square if you are looking for a quieter, picteuresque dining spot. You won't be disappointed. Villa Nieuwmarket is a great place for after dinner drinks. Cozy and very warm feeling with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The title of the review says it all. The hotel is clean and staff welcoming and helpful. The rooms are modern enough and comfortable. Our room was in the rear of the hotel and was very quiet on a night - no outside noise at all.
The hotel is within walking distance to - all transport links, eateries, attractions, museums, canals etc.
Would recommend the Burger Bar which is about a 3 min walk from the hotel near the old cinema and Smokey's Coffee shop next door.
Would definitely recommend this hotel - and will stay at this hotel again when we go back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#241 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiller
Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,086 - ₹ 19,158
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing