We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #91 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Our room was facing onto the street where the trams travel so I was a bit nervous about the noise from there but I have to say noise was definitely not a problem! The windows are very thick and once they are closed we found that noise from the street was minimal!

The location of this hotel is brilliant - 5 minutes from central station and 5 minutes from Dam Square! The trams literally stop outside the door which is very handy too!

The one thing I would say is make sure that you are comfortable with the person you are travelling with! The rooms are very small and oddly shaped and when people say that the walls of the bathroom are glass, they are not exaggerating! They are clear glass at the top and bottom and frosted glass in the middle! I found this a bit unnerving at the beginning! You do have to just avert your eyes and look out the window or at the television while your friend uses the bathroom!

Saying that though, I would stay here again and I would recommend it to a friend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muinteoir_Mishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Muinteoir_Mishka,

Thank you for your positive comments on you stay with us.

I hope we may welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    959
    340
    70
    49
See reviews for
215
1,001
121
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel was overall ok, and my review would probably be more positive if it weren't for the following: too pricey and with a discomforting bed. I don't know much about the Netherlands average price for hotels, but after travelling up and down all Europe, I expected something more for almost 200 euros per night, no breakfast included. The room was very small and the bathroom was separated by glass only, that requires some good level of closeness with your roommate... But then again, I would have found it a good deal if we were paying half the price. The double bed was made by two separate matrasses and separate blanketts and linen. Again, in the beginning I thought it was the Netherland way, but on day three of my stay I heard another customer asking to change his room for this reason, and he got it. We decided not to ask to change our room because it was our last night anyway. The staff was helpful and the hotel sells tkts to the main museums, which spares you endless lines. Clean enough and very quite (the windows have double glasses). Great location, 3 minutes walk from Dam square. I would eventually recommend it, if at a better price.

Room Tip: Specify clearly if you want a double bed - not two single pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbjrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear jbjrz,

Dear B C,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to your stay with us recently. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. During this period there is a high demand for rooms in Amsterdam, especially in the city centre. Therefore rates vary every day.

I hope we may welcoming you again in the future soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Pro: located in the heart of Amsterdam; everything your travellers guide tells you to see is in walking distance of max. 30min; very friendly checkin; receptionists allways friendly and helpful; liked the glass walls of the bathroom
Con: not the cleanest room I've seen but still ok; use of the toilet might be a challenge for "bigger" people :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear B C,

Thank you for tailing the time to respond to your stay with us recently. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we may welcoming you again in the future soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were booked to stay two nights but left after one. Our room (412) fronted the main street and was incredibly noisy. The (very small) bathroom walls are glass with frosted sections for 'privacy' and very badly fitting door, bad enough for a couple but when in a triple room the lack of privacy was a real inconvenience. Matresses were too big for the base and if you got close to the edge you felt as if you were falling out of bed. Staff did offer to change room for the second night but it was either going to be a noisy room with proper bathroom or quiet room with glass bathroom, neither a compromise we were prepared to make. Despite the reservation being non refundable we decided to leave after the first night. Reception staff were really unhelpful and rude telling me that I should have looked at the pictures on the website in advance of booking.

Room Tip: If you are prepared to live with the lack of privacy in the bathrooms make sure you ask for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillichops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Chillichops,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I have discussed your comments with my team. If there is a possibility of offering you another room after the first night we would have done this. I am sorry for the inconvenience, but still hope we may welcoming you again. If so, please let me know at erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here from April 4th - 7th. This hotel is a 5 min walk from Central station. This was gereat for us because we flew in to Eindhoven, got the bus to Central station in Amsterdam. Its also 5 min from Dam Square. Hotel room is small as are most in Amsterdam. Bathroom however is big with a great shower. Staff in hotel are friendly. Hotel is spotless. Amsterdam is a lovely city with loads to see. Leidsplein area is probably my favourite.
I found the cheapest rate for this hotel on Lastminute.com. It averaged out about 140 euro's a night, midweek.
A small complaint....I left a key behind and emailed the hotel as soon as I got home. The haven't yet replied!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyacherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Tanyacherie,

Thank you for sharing you positive feedback with us and other potential guests. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in Amsterdam.

Regarding the lost key, could you please send me your contact details to erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl because we did not receive the mail and I would like to solve this for you.

I hope we may welcoming you again in the future soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#105 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#111 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,081 - ₹ 20,858
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing