We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #87 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“clean and great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

i stayed here with my husband at the end of January for a couple of nights. Fab location, quiet and slept like a log in a very comfy and clean double bed (Room number 5). Nothing outstanding but good for the weekend. Staff helpful where necessary. We decided against breakfast as we know these can be expensive and managed to find plenty of places to eat nearby with probably a little more atmosphere. We had a few drinks in the Bar but wine by the glass was extremely pricey.
The only thing i would mention is that the rooms were a little on the chilly side (ie no heating on a very cold weekend) but the duvet was cosy once you got beneath it!! I am sure if i had complained, they would have told me how to adjust the heating....its just that the radiators were cold and i could see now obvious ways of adjusting
Extras such as tea and coffee are to be found above mini bar although they are a bit scant on the ground!. Hairdryer in bathroom was ok and soap/shampoo was adequate if not a little "cheap" but i would go there again....just for the location and its clean rooms and nice bed linen
There was a bit of mould around shower (showere over bath...basic but worked) but nothing that would cause me to freak out! This is Amsterdam after all!
Visited Van Gogh and Bols experience which were 2 minutes away by foot. Would highly recommend Bols experience. Cocktails at midday? Bring it on!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccalockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    417
    133
    37
    22
See reviews for
125
462
82
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Overall we were quite disappointed with this hotel for several reasons. Firstly the rooms were very small. Secondly the breakfast was very expensive and thirdly we were hit with extra taxes at the very end of our stay. It's in the small print but expect to pay an extra 30 to 40 euros on top of the price you paid upfront. Staff were variable in their friendliness and professionalism. Great location, but you could find more for your money. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJAGlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uerikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

The location is decent, the heating system, hopelessly inadequate and bearing in mind the night I was there did not drop below zero.

The windows rattled all night long, I assume due to trams/trains in the vicinity as it was not windy.


Cleanliness: There was a blood stain on my pillowcase and the bathroom was okayish but I could not say sufficiently clean

The shower was a overhead water dispensing device with a curtain and no bottom hence a soaking bathroom floor.

Breakfast was an overprices boring affair. Internet charges are per device and also overpriced, all in all a place I would advise against.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lad1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife & I read the reviews about this hotel before booking. We booked about 3 weeks before our stay and got a rate of 99 Euros per night for double-occupancy. This seemed on a slightly higher side (but upon arriving in Amsterdam, we realized nothing was cheap).
The staff at the hotel were very friendly. We were allowed to keep our bags for 4+ hours after checking out (since we had our flight later in the evening).
Whats great about this hotel is the location - its just bang in the middle of seemingly everything yet in a quite neighbourhood. You are about 3 mins from the Van Gogh museum, 3 mins from the Coster Diamond museum, 4 mins from the Rijks museum, 5-6 mins from the place where you can take the canal cruise and 6-7 minutes from the happening Leidseplein square.
The room itself is small which isn't a big surprise if you are in Western Europe and the bathroom+toilet is just enough for one person. But, there is nothing to complain off here (other than the toilet itself which was pretty odd, have attached a pic).
Internet is expensive - 17 Euros for 24 hours access at 1mbps speed (quite low of seeing any videos).
The breakfast is the usual continental buffet. At 20 Euros per head, it seemed expensive.
There is a SPA available but we didn't use it or even check it out.

Overall, this hotel is highly recommended just for the location and the price (which my friends tell me is not a bad deal).

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms are available. Please ask/choose when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

been here in january and what i can say is that it's not a 4 star hotel.the room was very small for two people,the bathroom also very small.we froze the first night even if we required extra blankets.the breakfast was not impressive,we got bored of the same few things...couldn't say quite clean because there was someone's nail on the carpet and it was there till the day we left..the windows were not completely isolated,when the wind was blowing the curtain was moving along with it..the only good thing about it was the location,which is close to all the great museums and that we checked in before 2 p.m. but if you stayed over 12,for a late flight you'd have to pay 10 euros per hour..plus,no free wi fi ????that was something i couldn't bare...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#124 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Property: Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,738 - ₹ 21,405
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing