We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hilton as it is expected to be”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“hilton as it is expected to be”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Moving from Bilderberg to this hotel was a big relief. This actually felt like a 5 star hotels with all its amenities.
Nice, clean room.
nice view on the canal.
When we asked the last night to put an extra bed for our daughter they moved us to a bigger room without increasing the room price (extra person 55euro), very nice!
The bar area is also nice with a nice view on the canal.
and breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear EstherD,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our hotelrooms, the view and services of our hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read your satisfaction regarding the upgrade of your hotelroom. Our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the extended Hilton breakfast. Guests staying in our Executive Rooms and suites have access to the Executive Lounge. Here you can enjoy a complimentary breakfast, cocktails, drinks and snacks with a panoramic view over Amsterdam.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    864
    272
    99
    45
See reviews for
395
1,130
145
751
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at the Hilton for a two day business trip. The hotel's architecture contrasts starkly to the beautiful architecture of Amsterdam, and certainly has a minimalist 1970s or perhaps a MadMen type feel to it. But remember this is where Jon Lennon and Yoko Ono had their honeymoon and their stay in bed, and it suddenly transports you back in time and it feels a bit romantic. The rooms are spacious (especially for Europe!), clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and willing to help you with anything, plus give tips on how to make your stay and visit to Amsterdam its best. A little tip: most cabs will only take cash, but you can pay for a taxi voucher at the hotel using credit card so you simply give the voucher to the taxi driver who will then take you to the hotel.

The hotel is a short distance from the main hub and activity, however, you are only a 5 minute walk (if that) to the closest tram to take you into the heart of the action. Also, you are only a 5 minute walk from Vondel Park, where you can stroll through a beautiful green park and pop out at the Rijksmuseum or Van Gogh museum for a delicious Americano. I was originally annoyed by the location, thinking I was too far from everything, but in the end, I loved having that short buffer from the hub and being able to walk through the park felt refreshing. And frankly... it isn't some hinterland or frozen Siberia...the surroundings are stunning. You are around the corner from a quaint old school and Christie's auction house, and don't underestimate the beauty of Vondel Park.

The buffet is extremely overpriced. I didn't want to hassle trying to find food (and it was a business trip), so I was fine with the buffet for those reasons. If it were my own dime, no dice.

For business, I would return to this place in a heartbeat. Depending on whether I could get a good price, I would certainly stay for a personal trip as well.

Room Tip: The 7th floor has the Yoko Ono and Jon Lennon Honeymoon suite! There's a sign on the door to id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear thallsy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an extensive review, tips and photos of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are very honored to read you praising words regarding our hotelrooms, our Team Members and the location of our hotel.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the “Oud-Zuid” neighbourhood, close to the RAI and others main congress centres, and indeed as well as to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

The Hilton Amsterdam features a bike rental service, which is a good and a fun alternative for public transport. Especially during spring and summer this is a great experience to discover Amsterdam.

The executive lounge on the 10th floor provides a panoramic view of Amsterdam and is very impressive. Guests staying in our Executive Rooms and suites have access to the Executive Lounge. Here you can enjoy a complimentary breakfast, cocktails, drinks and snacks.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Certainly not the best Hilton I've stayed at, but definitely an enjoyable and memorable stay. Terrific staff, especially in the Executive Lounge....Jasper in particular was helpful. The concierge on the main floor was okay, but there was one guy who was grumpy and to be candid, not a very good employee. Don't remember his name though. The hotel was in a nice part of Amsterdam, needs a little updating, but overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Would be nice to stay in John and Yoko's room (number 702) but only got to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inluvwithjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Inluvwithjapan,

Thank you taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your positive words regarding our Team Members and the location of our hotel. Please rest assured I will share your comments with them, especially with the Executive Lounge team.

We are sorry to hear that you experienced an employee of the concierge team to be grumpy and we would like to apologize for any inconvience this has caused you.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in a quiet and green neighbourhood in the south of the city centre, closely located to the renowned Amsterdam museums. The hotel is located at the canal, which offers a splendid view over the city, especially from our Executive Lounge on the top floor of our hotel.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I'm not sure what is the building year of this hotel but you may think of a hotel in industrial revolution era at 40's or 50's in Germany. The hotel location is a little far from the center. You should walk about 5-10 min to reach the first tram line to downtown. The room they gave to us was small but with a beautiful view to the canal. Two times, we had dining in the room, which it was pricey and low quality and took too much time to prepare. (We took Pizza FYI). Maybe you can consider this hotel as a business hotel in which seminars and shows can be held far from the noisy part of city but not a proper hotel for tourists. In comparison to the Hilton hotels I have ever been, this hotel was so simple.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Citoyen-du-universe,

Thank you for leaving a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not entirely meet your approval. Thank you for bringing your comment regarding the room service to our attention. Your feedback is shared within the team and used to review our service.

I would like to inform you that the the Hilton Amsterdam building has been featured in 1962 and is located in a quiet and residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

The tram station is indeed within walking distance of the hotel and will take approximately 10 minutes to the city centre. Public transport from and to the Hilton Amsterdam as well as in the city centre is highly recommended by the hotel, especially for sightseeing, it is easy, fast, environmental friendly and a great value of money.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After 45 days of touring France and Italy, and 4 1/2 months in Mauitius we landed in Amsterdam and then to the Hilton for some pampering. We got it in spades. Everyone from the front desk staff to the porters and maids made us feel welcome. The hotel is everything one expects from a Hilton Hotel. Clean, comfortable, cozy and awesome. Bathroom was a delight with huge tub and wonderful shower. Cooler weather outside, but cozy and warm inside. A wonderful experience once again and will definitely be Hilton users again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelmingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Angelmingo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and room tip of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read your praising words regarding the cleanliness, the comfortability and the bathrooms of the Hilton Amsterdam. Indeed the view over the garden terrace and canal is spectacular.

We are delighted to read your kind words regrarding the TeamMembers. Our Team Members are well trained and take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. Please rest assured I will share your comments with the team.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in a peaceful and residential area and is close to the city centre. The city centre is easily accessible with public transport. The Hilton Amsterdam features a bike rental service, which is a good and a fun alternative for public transport. Especially during spring and summer this is a great experience to discover Amsterdam. Our concierge is more than willing to assist you with this.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,415 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#77 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,798 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,204 - ₹ 35,572
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing