We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal and a great service”
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #79 of 4,619 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 23 - US$ 45
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. We serve here the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

High quality food, very tasty.
I took a beef meat, hot vegetables and for desert a palm tree - chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream ball.
The service was great as well, the waiters were very nice.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank amirs167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018

If you really want to get a true experience of how the locals eat and live you have to get out of the heart of Amsterdam. We walked here from our hotel near the Central Station and found ourselves in a quiet neighbor on one of the canals. We chose to sit outside where we could people watch. We had the rumpsteak with fries and several glasses of wine. What a great way to spend the evening. Friendly service

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Our family enjoyed a great meal at Vlaming. It is a very small establishment so reservations highly Recommend. We enjoyed the fish of the day, the Berkshire pork special of the day, a steak and the Spanish Tuna Steak. Each was fantastic. The menu is small but each item was freshly prepared and delicious. The two women who assisted us with food and wine were so sweet and helpful. We will definitely return the next time we visit Amsterdam.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 521ChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We were staying near this restaurant in the Joordan district of Amsterdam and decided to try it based on it's good Yelp reviews. We were not disappointed! We were greeted immediately by the owners daughter, Cleo. Though she had many reservations for the evening, she offered us 3 options for dining. We could sit at the bar, at a hightop table near the bar or at a table in the back. We opted for the hightop table near the bar and had a great breeze coming in from the front and a great view for people watching. Cleo even brought over another hightop chair for us to put our feet on and be more comfortable. They immediately brought out fresh bread with an aioli spread. My husband ordered a bottle of wine which was brought and opened immediately. This was not your normal speed of service for a European restaurant but also not rushed. Cleo told us the specials for the day and we also perused the menu. We ordered the veal starter which was tartar and accompanied by a soft-boiled egg, horseradish and bread. Delicious! I could have ordered two more and made a meal out of that alone. Next, my husband got the rumpsteak with red wine sauce and a wonderful broccoli side (I don't care for broccoli and even I like this), I ordered the pork chop special and the 'lazy woman' fries with mayo. All the meat was cooked perfectly and everything came out hot. We both cleaned all the plates! You must get the sticky toffee pie which is really more like a cake, it comes with ice cream and is just the perfect ending to a wonderful meal. We will definitely return to this spot on our next visit. Great Job Vlaming family and staff!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aprilmyers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Cosy atmosphere, very accomodating and hearty staff coupled with delicious fresh food.
Suggestions of the day can be highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank deSteini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing