We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be excellent, can be poor”
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ITC Hotel
Ranked #270 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can be excellent, can be poor”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I've stayed here on two occasions, the first time the room was in another building and was rather disappointing, unclean and generally a bit poor. However the second time we stayed in the main building and it was a stark contrast, the room was excellent given the two star rating of the hotel.
Despite the poor room on my first stay, the staff are always helpful and you can't fault them at all.

Provided you get a room facing the canal, the hotel exceeds its two star rating. However if you get one on the main road, you will be disappointed.
The location is fairly central and it isn't a particularly long walk to anywhere within the centre of Amsterdam. t'll take you 30 minutes at the most to walk from the central station.

On the whole its pretty much what you'd expect for the price you pay, as long as you get a room facing the canal.

Room Tip: Make sure you try and get a room in the main building or the townhouse (facing the canal), otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    160
    157
    73
    98
See reviews for
47
167
108
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

After reading the many poor reviews for this hotel, we was expecting the worst upon our arrival to the hotel. We were in a triple twin bed room, with its own en-suite. Contrary to many reviews our room was clean, tidy and well decorated. The beds were comfortable, and the room was tended to daily by the maids. Our bathroom was a wet room, and looked like it had recently been refurbished. No complaints in that department.

The rooms are basic, but what do people really expect for the price per night they are paying?

Okay, our room didn't have a view of the canal and the stairs of the hotel were very steep, but that is just the character of the buildings in central Amsterdam - it should be expected. Also the wi-fi was very poor, I wasn't able to connect to it once during my stay - but then again, I didn't go on holiday to spend the whole of it on the internet.

The location of this hotel is great. Many great cafes and bars surround or are near to the hotel, and there are many shops and supermarkets near, also. Within walking distance of all the main attractions of Amsterdam such as Dam Square, and also Centraal Station.

Overall our stay was a pleasant one. The staff were also willing to help us if we were looking for any place in particular, by drawing out directions on a map they provide.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Upon arrival with what might be called high hopes were somewhat damaged. The room was how one might say small. There was no toilet, just a sink. The shower was on another floor. You could here much noise from the neighbouring rooms. Our canal view from our window was spoiled by scaffolding. Some may say you get what you pay for but this was not what we had in mind. Furthermore, our in room safe was un-usable as it was locked but poor quality us not attached to the wall. The security of the room lacked as the doors were very structurally poor. A hat tip to the maid as she was very hard working and kept are room fairly clean throughout our stay. Average hotel. 2/5

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The photos on the ITC website are fraudulent. The room are not of the quality portrayed. If offered the annex hotel opposite do not bother, it is unfit for habitation. the website also shows the hotel has a bar; this no longer exists, the wifi did not work during the 4 days I spent there, the card entry system worked erraticlly. The breakfast was of poor quality. People were smoking cannabis in thier rooms, the hotel were informed of all these matters and did nothing to rectify them. When I notified Expedia of my dissapointment the hotel stated to them that I had not complained, so they lie as well as run a hotel on the cheap. They are a disgrace to the hotel business and should seek alternative employment.

Room Tip: The one in the photos on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is in a great location on the Amsterdam canals. Close to lots of shops, bars, cafes and attractions. We arrived before our room was ready, but they held our bags and when we returned they gave us two rooms instead of one ( for me and my Dad so it was perfect) and the rooms were just right. small but what you expect for the old buildings! If you want to stay in a true to Amsterdam hotel, the rooms are going to be small and the stairways narrow. that is all part of the charm. This is a city that is 400 years old and the buildings are authentic! This place had a comfy bed, small table and two chairs. Had a shower and toilet in a little closet which was fine for one person per room. If u dont know the person you are sharing with, it wouldn't be very private though. Staff helpful, the only problem for me was the wireless signal didnt work in my room. but i was on holiday anyway, the less technology, less interruptions, the better!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmbrellaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#296 of 367 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#300 of 367 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#294 of 367 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#220 of 367 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 367 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#293 of 367 in Amsterdam
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Property: ITC Hotel
Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,257 - ₹ 14,114
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing