We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly awesome must-stay place in Amsterdam!”
Review of Bed Breakfast Boat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed Breakfast Boat
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazingly awesome must-stay place in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My sister and I spent 2 nights at the Bed & Breakfast Boat. The houseboat is extremely clean, neat, cosy and comfortable, complete with good wifi, couch, coffee maker, good heater (for winter/early spring), and super nice and friendly host, Rene. The houseboat is spacious, and has its own entrance/exit, so you would have absolute privacy. Rene, the owner, stays in the houseboat area just next-door and is readily available whenever you need help. He provides generous servings of breakfast in a basket placed at the doorstep every morning, which includes fresh breads/buns from the nearby bakery, milk, fruit juice, fruits, yogurts and various spreads. We used the extras from breakfast to make sandwiches to bring out during the day. He was also very very kind to offer to drive us to the Centraal Station with our suitcases, so that we can catch a direct train to the Schiphol airport early in the morning when we checked out.

While the houseboat might not located very centrally, it is situated in a very safe and nice neighbourhood. The nearest tram stop is less than 5 minutes walk away, and brings you to Dam Square and other metro stations, so you can still access everywhere pretty easily.

I cannot emphasize how much we love staying at the houseboat. it was so enjoyable and relaxing to stay in such a cosy and tranquil place, living on the waters and waking to random quacks from the ducks, that we really didn't want to leave the place. It was hard getting out of the house, cos it's so comfortable.

This accommodation was definitely the highlight of my Amsterdam trip, and I highly recommend everyone to come here for an authentic and wonderful Amsterdam vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nemrac_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedbreakfastboat, Owner at Bed Breakfast Boat, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Wow...that is so kind of you. I am flattered! Hope to see you back soon some day. You were great guests to host here at the Bed Breakfast Boat! Hope you had a fantastic trip after Amsterdam! Cheerio, Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the B&B boat with René in November 2011 for 2 nights. It was absolutely fabulous! René was very friendly and the little annex house boat is just perfect to stay as a couple. It is extremely romantic to stay there and wake up watching the canal. Every morning, René prepares a little basket with fresh bread, yogurt and jam for our breakfast. You can then take your breakfast whenever you want. There is also some CDs in the annex so it just makes the experience magical!
Additionally, René also rents bikes for the day, which is very convenient to discover Amsterdam. If you are not a biker, then there is a tram 5min walking that takes you in 7min to the central DAM. For sure next time we go to Amsterdam we will stay with René. We can only highly recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mlle_Aless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Wonderful, authentic experience. The houseboat proprietor had some minor remodeling to finish on the guest side, but graciously offered his side of the houseboat instead. This was a cozy upgrade from accommodations that were already superb. The location was quiet but accessible, and steps from some wonderful restaurants and a world-famous brewery. The swans at the window, fresh breakfast, onsite bikes, and hospitality made the stay an incredible value. I will be back to Amsterdam in the spring, this time with my wife. We are very much looking forward to staying in the houseboat. If you are looking for something unique, comfortable, and removed from the hectic and often overpriced center, this is your place. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_G787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The place was absolutely great ! .. what a experience to stay on a houseboat ! I will never forget the view ... and the feeling of calmness that the water brought to me in the middle of the citylife. I was staying there alone but I am thinking of coming again for some days with my husband. It is a great place for a couple or a small family too.
The place itself is spacious, clean, well equipped .. for breakfast you have a great choice and fresh products ... Rene is a very nice and helpful person - many thanks to him !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Staying in the Bed and Breakfast Boat was pure heaven. Though outside the city center, there's a tram stop five minutes away, and the houseboat is located in a nice quiet area. The rooms are spacious, and the shower is absolutely luxurious, as is the incredibly comfortable bed. Every night after sightseeing, we couldn't wait to get back to the houseboat-- staying there was an experience in and of itself. The breakfast is incredible: Fresh bread delivered to your door in an adorable basket every day, with granola, yogurt, milk, cold cuts, cheese, and jam in the fridge. The cheese and cold cuts allowed us to make delicious sandwiches to take with us and eat while sightseeing-- so fantastic! The owner was very nice and understanding about our inability to check out on time (we just didn't want to leave the house boat-- we wanted to stay forever!) Staying here made our experience, and enabled us to have a truly relaxing vacation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artist331z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#166 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
De Pijp
Houseboat Little Amstel
Houseboat Little Amstel
#50 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Dutch Canal Boat Hotel
Dutch Canal Boat Hotel
#152 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#106 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Minties
#70 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed Breakfast Boat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Breakfast Boat

Property: Bed Breakfast Boat
Address: Zeeburgerpad 178, 1019 DZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,967 - ₹ 7,838
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on a houseboat in AmsterdamAmsterdam has 100 kilometer of canals, 1500 bridges and more than 1000 houseboats. Come and stay on one when you visit!Experience Amsterdam from the water. Come and stay on the Bed Breakfast Boat. Your own floating hotel room, right in the middle of buzzing town. Enjoy the beauty of the water: the sun reflecting in it, boats passing by, ducks and swans wanting to get acquainted.Enjoy your crispy fresh breakfast in the morning. Jump on your bike and cycle to town, where the greatest museums, the historic canal area, parks and bars are waiting to give you a great time.Upon return your own water cabin is waiting to give you that relaxing feeling you deserve! Enjoy a cold beer or a glass of really good wine on your own private terrace, watch a movie, listen to some music or just enjoy the magnificent view! This is Amsterdam!The Bed Breakfast Boat consists of one room of about 29 square meters. It is part of the owners houseboat but has it’s own fully private outside entry and terrace. It has a a double king size bed, a kitchenette, a bathroom with rainshower, washbasin and toilet and a sitting area with fold out sofa. There's 5 large windows bringing in wonderful light and offering you a spectacular view on the water.The Bed Breakfast Boat is mostly suited for one or two persons. However, the foldout sofa and the availability of a baby bed and stool makes it perfectly possible to bring your child or children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed Breakfast Boat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing