We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s system not us who overcharged you ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two days where the booking was confirmed and had asked double connecting room, confirmation received but during check-in the front office staff explain that they are not aware of any such request. After long wait they allocate one room only as another was not cleaned up. The room allocated was meant for aged/ or handicapped guest so slightly big but bathroom was designed for them so during shower water all over and not easy to use it. Asked for change and room changed and given two room opposite to each other but not inter-connecting, anyway it’s ok.
Also, just to mention during check-in we had almost no assistance for baggage which I believe staff at front office should when guest with children.
FB outlet used only few times and staff was good and food was delicious.

Had another issue during check-out when my credit card was over charged to two nights 660euro. At lobby, it’s all receptionist who are managing with trainees. When my card was charged again during check-out, i got prompt message from Bank and I told the receptionist who was also wearing badge of trainee but she explained...no worries, it’s system who will adjust.
Once I reached my next destination, open online banking and found overcharged. Called hotel where a lady who is supposed to be in-charge that time explained that it’s system who charge your credit card not us.... ??? And I was advised to contact my bank directly. Unable to understand that why a mistake by hotel of excess charge cannot be adjusted when told within few hours by voiding the transaction. When I asked if can speak to GM of hotel then reply was GM is busy. On asking his name the reply was ....we cannot tell even his name to you because of security reasons. So, who is going to sort this mess out... probably not GM then whom to contact.
Have sent complain to Hilton Honors ....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ganeshmathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us.

I am sincerely sorry to have caused you inconveniences in regards to billing and authorizations. Please know that it was never our intention to cause you any trouble and regret that you have experienced it as such. As per personal contact we have looked in to this further and have taken the needed steps to make it right. Furthermore we have discussed your experienced with our entire Front Desk team as well to make sure situations like this would not happen again.

Once again we are truly sorry to have caused you unneeded stress and disappointment after your stay with us. Hopefully we have resolved your concerns and you will be kind to give us another chance to welcome you back. We would love to show you the high level of service you expect form us.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 7,210 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

The hotel is in a great location - short walk from the Central Train station.
Walking distance to the above ground rail station too. Great rooftop bar too! Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
The Cruise Ship terminal is also only 20 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,

How wonderful it is to read that you had such a great stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. Hopefully we will see you back very soon for another memorable visit!

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel has great location, 3 mins walk from the train station .
On arrival was given out keys , went to room to our surprise there was someone already in the room.Had to go back 9 floors to resption.
Was then given another key on the 6th floor .
Ever night we returned to our room the key wouldn't work , so had to go to reception ever night.
Hotel is lovely.The showers are great and we got a great night sleep.
Sky bar worth a visit on top floor.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gurffleups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,

My sincere apologies for your inconveniences in regards to the room and your room key. Please know that it was never our intention to cause you any troubles. However I am glad that this did not take away from your overall experience. Thank you for taking the moment to share your experiences.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam in order to make it right and make your next visit truly memorable.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

For after dinner drinks, we always try to go to the rooftop bar, because of the view. It's right in the city centre close to public transport and the Central Station. We like the cocktail menu and the whisky.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FayeInAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully we will see you back very soon for another great evening.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Location
My partner and I stayed at this property during August before our cruise. The location of this hotel is very convenient to tourist travellers. The hotel is located next to Central Station and within a few minutes walk to Dam Square. You can take a tram from next to the hotel to the main tourist areas within a few minutes. This is a great location to stay if you are departing for a cruise as the terminal is very close to the hotel (catch the tram and it’s 5 minutes). A Starbucks cafe is located next to the hotel and a small supermarket is available in the railway station.

Breakfast
Breakfast was very good with an extensive range of food available similar to a 5 star offering. The smoked salmon and variety of breads and pasties were very good. The only down turn is that you need to find your own table and the restaurant is extremely busy with a food court atmosphere at peek times.

Room
The housekeeping and hygiene standards of this hotel is a very big let down and I will never stay here again. The bed linen appeared not to have been changed from the previous customer. We noticed what appeared to be pubic hairs on our sheets. The air-conditioning was also not working.

We notified reception who advised a Manager would contact us immediately, however after 60 minutes we had received no acknowledgement. We contacted the front desk again and requested to speak to the Duty Manager. The Manager arranged to move us to another room and offered us assistance with our bags. This was the end of it. We received no follow up call or apology.

On checking out, I mentioned our conerns to the front desk supervisor who smiled and seemed not to be overly concerned with the fact that our bed linen had not been changed from the previous customer and we had found PUBIC HAIR in the sheets.

Overall
The location is great and the room size is generous compared to European standards, however not replacing bed linen from a previous customer is disgraceful and disgusting for a brand associated with the Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry for your inconveniences. Please know that we always change bed linens for new guests. However I have immediately shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Manager and Duty Manager as well in order to make sure this would not happen again. Thank you for bringing your experiences to my attention and once again we are deeply sorry for this!

Hopefully you will be kind to give us another opportunity to make it right on your next visit. We would like to make your next visit with us truly memorable.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,016 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,245 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 13,270 - ₹ 33,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing