We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Immaculate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #65 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We stayed at this Hilton Doubletree at the conclusion of a 12 day ocean cruise. Wanted to see Amsterdam before our trip home. The location is amazingly close to the Cruise terminal, within walking distance. Hotel is two blocks from the Central Train Station. We arrived at 10 AM from the ship and the front desk staff 'pre-checked' us into the hotel, although a room was not yet ready. Not only did they store our bags, but they provided us with a key to the Exec Lounge so that we could get a breakfast. The front desk experience was exceptional. We were upgraded to a room overlooking the city due to the room not being immediately available. The room was an Exec Suite, immaculately clean, with all the modern touches, including two Apple TVs and shower AND tub. Furniture design was of course Nordic modern, clean lines and uncluttered. We even had a dining room table in the 'living room'. Front desk staff provided during our two night stay; assistance with the TV, a power adapter so that I could use my curling iron, fresh fruit and water, and all the cookies we could eat. The breakfasts at the Exec Lounge were more than continental snacks but included eggs, bacon sausage and wonderful artisan breads. We would definitely stay here again. Finally, the hotel made arrangements through a local taxi, at a flat rate to get us (and our luggage) to the airport. Made our first trip to Amsterdam one we will never forget!

Room Tip: "City view rooms have mechanical shutters that pull back at night to reveal the evening beauty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PatentGeekLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are truly humbled to read that you fully enjoyed your visit with us.
Thank you so much for taking some time and sharing your experiences with all of us here on the TripAdvisor. We will be looking forward to return and hope to make your next visit even more memorable.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 210 of 7,372 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days in July 2017.
Very centrally located next to the main station, extremely well connected to the airport by train or cabs.
The staff, reception, tour desk, breakfast buffet area staff, restaurant staff are all superb, very friendly and extremely helpful. Service is excellent.
Rooms and the bathrooms are very dated and seriously needs refurbishment. Every aspect looks frayed, old, smells and views are terrible.
Even the outside façade and appearance of the hotel looks pretty pathetic, definitely not of the standard Hilton is famous for.
For the money one pays for a room here, I would expect a far superior quality of room.
I don't know if this is a feature of the Doubletree brand, but one thing is for sure, next time I don't think I would ever opt to stay at a Doubtree Hotel by Hilton.

Room Tip: Nothing really, rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A1Sydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and nice comments about our team.

However I regret to see that we were unable to make your visit with us more to your liking. Please allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations in regards to the room provided. I will share your feedback with our property manager to further look into.

Hopefully you will be kind to give us another opportunity to make it right on your next visit. We will be looking for ward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We were booked here by rivercruise tour. Advantages = very central location and excellent top floor sky lounge w good views, good service, excellent small dishes.but the rest of our experience was 3 star at best. Our rooms were not ready til after 3:00 despite a 10:00 prearranged arrival. Desk was not particularly helpful in getting us arranged for the wait. Staff was very mechanical and production oriented. Then despite having paid full price we were assigned to a room type (#628) which was very small compared to most. I looked at roommaps to assure that impression. Trip advisor found same room at half the price. Only view was straight across an internal court yard to other rooms. No USB charging ports that I could find. Fortunately I travel with adapter kit. We are longtime Hilton Honors members and have had many wonderful stays in the various Hilton brands -- this is not one of them. Aside from location and Skylounge our stay found little to recommend it. Cleanliness was 4 star. Summary: if you need the convenient location it serves well. But it is very busy and thus does not need to try excel at hospitality. Better rooms are certainly available at better rates. I felt somewhat taken advantage of.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SRTHORWARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. However I regret to see that we were unable to make your visit with us more to your liking. Please allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations in regards to the room provided.
I trust you understand that this was never our intention.

Hopefully you will be kind to give us another opportunity to make it right on your next visit. We will be looking for ward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We recently stayed at the Double Tree in central Amsterdam. It is a 3 minute walk from Central Train Station and 5 minutes from the cruise terminal and an easy walk into the canal district. If that was all, it would be wonderful....BUT the hotel is awesome providing fruit and bottled water in the lobby, spotlessly clean and very friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Thank you so much for taking a moment to share this with all of us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

excellent hotel. great location for the central station, cruise terminal and city center. good room and good service. walk to the city very easy. we came in by train and left on a ship. very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bwaitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are truly humbled to read that you fully enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with all of us here on the TripAdvisor. We will be looking forward to return and hope to make your next visit even more memorable.

Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,113 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#64 of 376 in Amsterdam
795 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 13,014 - ₹ 33,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station and begin your visit with one of our famous freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies. are you here for business? or pleasure? Everything is within your reach to experience Amsterdam, thanks to our central location. Take in our spectacular views over the city and IJ river from SkyLounge Amsterdam. The hotel has 557 stylish guest rooms. Each one luxuriates in floor-to-ceiling windows to provide a sense of air and space. There is a power shower for you to relax in after a long day and you can use the iMac provided in every guest room for work or recreation, or simply use the complimentary Wi-Fi with your own device. The hotel is located in the city centre within walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The historic city centre, famous shopping streets, the different congress centres and all of the city's cultural heritage are within your reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing