We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit.”
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 23.20*
and up
Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam
Ranked #3 of 603 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom. Due to public holidays, opening hours may vary from December 24 2018, to January 5 2019. Please consult the museum website for current opening hours.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Good to get an understanding of the artist and life at the time. Best book on-line and plan a good 3hrs for the visit. Cloak room is often well utilised so try not to bring coats if weather is good

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (56,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"his life"
in 2,887 reviews
"starry night"
in 763 reviews
"his brother"
in 509 reviews
"audio guide"
in 1,890 reviews
"his contemporaries"
in 335 reviews
"famous works"
in 367 reviews
"famous paintings"
in 481 reviews
"art lovers"
in 490 reviews
"gift shop"
in 630 reviews
"on display"
in 727 reviews
"great collection"
in 331 reviews
"on line"
in 654 reviews
"buy your tickets"
in 355 reviews
"time slot"
in 308 reviews
"two hours"
in 346 reviews
"sunflowers"
in 1,155 reviews
"queue"
in 2,994 reviews
Filter

3,346 - 3,350 of 56,556 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I am not an artist but I love frequenting art museums.

The Van Gogh museum was exceptionally well organized and presented.

I soaked in the originals which were all super close to observe (unlike the Louvre etc) and they did a phenomenal job of presenting his personal life and professional work.

Love, love, loved it!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Visalakshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We went to the Van Gogh Museum the day after we went to the Rijksmuseum, and it suffered by comparison, which was not at all what we expected. We got tickets online, got there early, bought the audio tour guides, and ended up staying for four-and-a-half hours (we went through the Japan exhibit as well), so it's not like we gave it short shrift.

It was great seeing the paintings up close and being able to fully appreciate the artist's technique. (It would be such a good idea to tell people up front they aren't allowed to photograph. I saw lots of people being scolded.) It was also good to be schooled at what a remarkable craftsman Van Gogh was and not just someone with mental illness and an artistic bent.

The experience came up short because of some fogginess regarding the arc of Van Gogh's life/work. This wasn't the case in the Japan portion, but the general installation lacked overall ... something ... perspective? Focus? I don't know. The other disappointment was the audio guide. In contrast to the Rijksmuseum, the commentary seemed fluffy and juvenile just when we'd gotten used to meaty and consequential.

I'm not sorry we went. I'm sorry I'm not rapt and full of glowing remarks.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Disjantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The van gogh museum is built flawlessly ... its interior is well luminated and efficient making it easy even for a firstcomer to move around! Its exhibitions are very interesting and well structured as well as easy to follow and not tiring! Deffinetely a recommendation

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank OnAir764855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

If you are a van Gogh fan, this is definitely a must-see. Surprising that his most vaunted paintings like the 'sunflower' and 'almond blossom' are not large canvases as one imagined them to be. His 'Starry starry nights' is at MOMA, NYC. More surprising was learning how heavily influenced he was by Japanese art but unfortunately those prints are not as prolific online or found in other museum gift shops.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 137aditib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing