We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buy tickets in advance!!!”
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 48.64*
and up
Van Gogh Museum Entrance Ticket and Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Boat Day Pass
More Info
US$ 112.71*
and up
Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam: Small Group Tour and Skip the Line Ticket
More Info
US$ 141.19*
and up
Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam Guided Tour
Ranked #3 of 515 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Buy tickets in advance!!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

It was a cold, rainy weekend in Amsterdam, and waiting for one hour (exactly: 60 minutes) in the line was not exactly what we had hoped for. This being made even less amusing by a trespasser, who decided to skip the line and stand behind us (and ignore our remarks), we were happy but already exhausted, when we finally entered the museum. Two ticket offices are just not enough!
Moreover, the museum was so, so crowded, that we barely got to spend enough time in front of the paintings we liked. Granted, the collection is impressively large and the halls well-organized, but it could have been so much better...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank OlgaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

43,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,782
    11,771
    3,279
    646
    298
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thorold
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

a hige line even if you have tickets in advance but there not as long as the buy ticket line. You can do it in 1 hour - it's not huge but beautiful. Trams stop right in front so no problem to get there. The Riksmuseum is right next door.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThoroldTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Van Gogh Museum”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

A must if you like art. Four floors of the artists work. A very attractive and well laid out museum easily accessible by tram.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILANO
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“ONLINE BOOKING IS USELESS”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Van Gogh Museum itself is absolutely interesting and should be definitely visited once in Amsterdam. Nevertheless, despite online booking (with full pre-payment of the ticket) you have to stand in a queue (I waited for one hour and a half) because no date or visit time is indicated in the ticket. Service should be absolutely improved!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ELISABMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

It was really nice and up to my expectations but i felt there is room for improvement as far as entering the museum. Even though i purchased my tickets online long before i arrive to A-Dam. On the visiting day 10AM, we were asked to queue for 2 hours due to crowds regardless of having tickets or not. So we left and came back at 4PM and went thru immediately with our prepaid tickets. I got my son the headphone and he enjoyed it the most. As we were leaving and handing out back our headphones, one of the assistants behind the desk game my son a free post card shape of a paining as a gift. It was very nice and made all leave with a smile.
Excellent customer service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zman1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing