We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit touristy but still a must see in Holland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt

Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 21.43*
and up
Amsterdam Winter Walk City Tour
Ranked #72 of 483 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located on the Singel Canal, the fantastic displays of flowers at this floating flower market is beautiful to behold.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A bit touristy but still a must see in Holland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Many stalls of beautiful flowers and bulbs to buy. Go if you are a flower lover! There is also a lovely Christmas shop right along the canal open all year long. It has great souvenirs

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank marchmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    850
    615
    191
    96
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Do not buy any LOOSE bulbs from the market!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Last fall, I bought 40 bulbs from different dealers on the market. Took about an hour of trolling through the market looking for the colours that I wanted to put in my garden. At one market I bought 36 bulbs 3 of each solid colour. I also bought 4 x Amaryllis in four different colours from another stall. This spring all my Amaryllis came up about a month ago and they were ALL red. I was pretty perturbed about this but it is what it is, right, no... All 40 tulips have come up and they are ALL yellow! This was the first time I have ever bought loose bulbs from the market. Do not buy loose bulbs!

The Dahlia's that I bought that were bagged were the only thing correct. So stick to bagged and packaged goods from the market.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank JimMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
166 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A riot of colour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Superb selection of flowers, bulbs, seeds and gifts. Great a place just to visit.....or even better if you actually want to purchase bulbs etc. Good value too.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank njnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You wouldn't need any other bulbs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The fresh flowers are amazing - huge bunches of tulips - 50 for just a few euros! The flower stalls are beautiful and the bulb selection is immense. Walk the length of the street to get a feel of the place and take in the culture. It is not just the tourists that shop here. I purchased an unusual white hosta for 3 euros and some allium bulbs (6 for 10euros). There are an immense selection of tulip, amaryllis and other bulbs on offer.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackberry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The world famous Dutch floating flower market - not that u would notice it is on barges. Smaller than many imagine

Helpful?
1 Thank e_lexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing