We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,945)
Filter reviews
2,945 results
Traveller rating
2,247
466
137
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,247
466
137
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtflying dutchmanbutler servicehermes toiletriesrestaurant bridgesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelfive star hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citythe location is perfectnespresso machineanne frank housevan gogh museum
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 2,945 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Me and 3 other friends stayed here for the U2 shows at the Arena and had an awesome 4 night stay at The Grand. The location is prime for anything you want to do and walking distance to the train station. Very Classic Hotel with every amenity and blows away any Sofitel in the USA.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamescalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear guest,
It is a pleasure to read your lovely review and your words are very encouraging for the entire team, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon, for any other concert if you like or just for a city trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The Sofitel Legend is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous loacation. On the surface it is an excellent choice. However, the service is the worst I've ever encountered. Our reservation was for a canal-view room and early check-in. We did not get a canal-view room and our check-in was an hour and a half past regular check-in. They gave us two drink coupons for our wait, but told us "Superior Rooms" don't offer canal views, so we didn't reserve one. It was only after we contacted our travel agent that they admitted their error and they offered to move us. During our five-day stay, we observed that most guests received late check-ins and drink coupons, and many were vocal about their disappointment. Our overall impression was that the hotel was understaffed and those that worked there didn't like their jobs. From start to finish, we received poor service from almost every employee we encountered. It was an unbelievable experience that became comical in the end. This is a lovely hotel, but the service overshadows the experience. I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Verify your reservation before you book a room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Alison,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.
We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent that in this case we fell short. I understood from our Guest Relations department, that after what was indeed a bad start your stay did improve, especially after your dinner in Restaurant Bridges. However I am sorry to read that this was apparently not the case.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any questions.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The suite was absolutely incredible - spacious, immaculate, extremely comfortable. Every single staff member was professional and went out of their way to accommodate. We opted for the included breakfast which was magnificent. The location is ideal. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. My only regret is that we weren't able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C1620UJchristinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for taking your time to write such a fantastic review about your recent stay with us.

It fills me with great joy to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much and you found every member of my team to be outstanding.
We are indeed ideally located, a stones throw away from the major shops, attrractions and many restaurants.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Grand next time you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This is a plush hotel, the rooms were very nice and beds very comfortable. The wifi worked well. Great shower.
The food was very good in the restaurants, but the service is lacking. We were basically invisible to the waitstaff.
The final bill was incorrect, so had to go to the front desk to check out and it took between 45 minutes to and hour just to get helped. What we discovered, is standing in line doesn't matter. Front desk staff just take who ever and people have no problem taking your spot. I don't know if this is a cultural thing, as in no queuing or what.The agent was apologetic for the service snafus and did give us a small goodwill credit on our account.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SeattleTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Reception was very accommodating and had our room For us at 8:30 AM asweflew in from Nairobi, Africa overnight. The hotel is beautiful, the people are the nicest that work there and loved the breakfast. Absolutely the best breakfast of any hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to be in this location. We walked everywhere.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lowcountrylady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for taking your time to write such a fantastic review about your recent stay with us.

Rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words and comments to the entire team and they will be just as thrilled to learn that you had such a great experience with us.

We hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews