We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding our Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 September 2017

If everything seems to go wrong right from the beginning of your stay - like missing suitcases and capricious weather conditions - it is a blessing to feel at home far from home from the very first minute that you arrive at the hotel.

The incredible helpful and attentive "Les Clefs d’Or" Niels and Maurits in particular as well as the entire team at the front desk and the Bridges restaurant made our stay at The Grand a real pleasure and unique experience! We will keep "The Legend" in very good memory - and the wonderful city of Amsterdam as well...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreasuresEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I will share them with the entire team, especially with Niels, Maurits and the Front Office staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had a good stay here, particularly as we got a room at 11am after an all night flight from New York. The room was comfortable and mostly very quiet - our only two issues we're that the curtain didn't fully close at the very end so there was a stream of light in the morning which was not as conducive to extended sleeping, and that the room door was pretty thin and even though we could hear anything through the thick walls we could hear our neighbours getting room service delivered (and they probably heard the same when we got it as well). The room service in itself was impeccable! As was the actual hotel which was very well kept with extremely professional staff. The hotel is in a very central area as well. All in all a good stay and we look forward to coming back and trying a different room!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alizeh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind words and will use your criticism as a tool to improve ourselves where needed.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

My mom and I stayed at the Sofitel Legend post-cruise. We were on a Rhine river cruise with Uniworld, and wanted to end our trip with the same luxury standard as we had experienced onboard the ship. The hotel itself is beautiful, from abundance of fresh flowers in the lobby, to offering of Hermes toiletries in the bathroom. It is a very nice property indeed. We had breakfast included in our room rate. To our disappointment, the service was slow (even though they were never busy and with plenty of staff on hand), the food available for buffet was very limited in variety. The asian dishes on their a-la-carte menu were plain weird. The only thing I truly enjoyed was the Norwegian style eggs Benedict, with smoked salmon, delicious! We had a double room facing the canal, loved the high-quality linens, slippers, complimentary water and large bathroom. However the room itself is very small, and our beds were single beds. At home, I have a king bed to myself. Yes I know it is Europe and everything is smaller. So I don't count it against the hotel. The only thing I really dislike is the location of the hotel. There's a marijuana coffee shop right next door to the hotel, the the red-light district is just behind the property. So you get largely undesirable tourists coming to the area seeking those particular services. On our way out from the hotel one day, we witnessed a street flight right outside the hotel, which ended in one person been taking to the hospital. For our later part of the trip in Amsterdam (after visiting Spain), we stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam, in the Apollolan area, which is such an elegant and peaceful retreat, a world of difference from the Sofitel. I did enjoy the excellent service at the Sofitel from all the staff I've encountered, from the front desk, bell desk to housekeeping. A special shoutout to the concierge desk, who managed to get us same-day tickets to visit the Ann Frank museum. (Sorry I forgot the name of the staff who helped us, he has glasses and a bit more senior than the rest of the concierge staff). Overall, though the hotel itself is wonderful, regrettably, because of its location, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SasaMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind words and will use your criticism as a tool to improve ourselves where needed. Please note that due to the historical nature of our building, all our rooms slightly differ in size and design...but then again the history enhances the character of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Best location and best hotel in Amsterdam. We travel to Amsterdam every year and we just found our new home away from home-we will only stay here from now on! Try the suite with your own private entrance-its pure luxury

Room Tip: suite 713 it has your own entrance onto the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We arrived at The Sofitel for a 6 night stay! Hotel room overlooking the canals was lovely, well equipped! First night was a bit strange to say the least...after going to the Bistro for dinner we could not find anything healthy on the menu, so the waitress brought us the menu from bridges restaurant fine dining! $25EU for the smallest plate of vegetarian kohlrabi- we didn't go to The Bistro to have fine dining! Breakfast were really good every day! We never had lunch or dinner in the hotel again as selection was very poor!
Staff were friendly and professional
On the 2nd last day we noticed we had $468Au withdrawn from our credit card and the next day another $699au deducted! We went to reception as we thought our account had been hacked!! (We had fully paid our accommodation prior to arriving) we were told after quite a delay that both amounts were deducted - well not deducted but held in case we spent more around the hotel!! If a hotel is going to take $'s from your credit card. It would only be polite to say....we are holding $'s x amount for incidentals!!
All else around the hotel was lovely!
If we went back to Amsterdam we would stay again at The Sofitel was the best hotel in the city centre, but we would know what to expect!
There are many many healthy eateries for vegetarians very close! There was one night that we fancied staying in and thought we would order room service. Nothing on the list that suited us! We thought a vegetarian pizza without cheese..but the pizzas were 'packet pizza' already made up....5 star hotel?
Lots of fantastic things to do! Even bike riding amongst the locals! Great museums!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking canals noisy at night! We don't like air conditioning so left window open! Clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I would like to assure you that your constructive feedback is taken seriously and that we will follow up on your feedback regarding our Restaurants and our menu. Actually I am happy to inform you that we have a new menu in our Le Petit Bistro with improved vegetarian and healthy options. Hopefully you will provide us with a second change in the near future to prove ourselves a better host.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,428 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,221 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 20,772 - ₹ 57,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing