We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel, best location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #14 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend. The hotel is in a very good location, close walking distance to everything. We took the train from the airport, straight into Amsterdam and walked to the hotel with our case. The hotel is beautiful, we were upgraded to a deluxe room on check in. Wow what a lovely room, all the little extras you would expect from a 5 star hotel, slippers, dressing gown, umbrella, hermes toiletries, chocolates etc. The bed was huge and so so comfy. The bathroom had a tv on the wall and a cushion in the bath to rest your head on. Our room had a canal view. I thought Amsterdam was an interesting place to visit and i would highly recommend this hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was quite pricey. There are plenty of places to eat a short distance away. There was a large department store on Dam Square with a restaurant upstairs, which served various reasonable priced food at lunch time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gg2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback,
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your Amsterdam break and you made the most of our perfect central location.

I am glad to hear that you felt the hotel was wonderful and the room with all the little extras was to your satisfaction.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,345 of 2,656 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Registration staff provided impeccable service!
Lovely old hotel, clean and comfortable.
Inner courtyard provided a great bar and table service for a quiet dinner. Just keep moving your feet and the little mice scurry away.(not a problem unless you have a major mice phobia)
Rooms clean and bed very comfy, albeit a big saggy. Great shower.
Stained glass staircase very beautiful, along with large pieces of artwork through out hotel.
Breakfast, altho expensive, is nicely arranged, served and fresh.
Brick drive being repaired, therefore some construction.
Only negative, and it really was no buggy if you close your window... noisy side street on a warm summer night.
Would recommend this hotel to all, and if ever in Amsterdam, I will add on a few days to stay in this fantastic old hotel for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the service of our Sofitel ambassadors, the comfort of your room as well as our inner garden where our restaurant Bridges serves its award winning dishes.

I am happy to read that, despite the fact that you have witnessed mice in our garden are, you were able to fully enjoy your stay with us. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this and please rest assured that we have taken drastic measurements to exterminate this problem.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near feature.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here overnight recently and it was a great experience. My room had a view out over the canal, and it was peaceful. The hotel is just down the road from the red light district and close to some coffee shops and I'd say it's just at the start of the acceptable areas of Amsterdam, so just outside the area which has all the drugs, drunkards and prostitution. Breakfast was a dream, with a huge choice of fresh food, pastries and fruit, and all the drinks you can imagine. It would be difficult to fault this hotel, a true marvel for the luxury customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

It is so wonderful to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

Indeed our central yet quiet location is a real asset. A lot of things are going on in the lively centre of Amsterdam, and after a busy day, guests are delighted to enter a peaceful atmosphere mixing Dutch tradition and French elegance.

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great breakfast experience in our restaurant Bridges.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed our first week in an AirBNB property which was nicely located but which fell short on beauty, comfort, and amenities. So we booked the Grand to live it up our final three nights and were we ever glad we did.

The Grand is beautiful! The Yves Delorme linens and towels, copious amounts of Evian water, chocolates, big comfy bed, cushy bathrobes, fabulous room service, and the attentiveness of the staff told us we had really come up in the world from our AirBNB place.

Full of wonderful history and beautifully restored, the hotel is well-located in the center of activity but wonderfully quiet for sleeping. Our room looked over a beautiful canal ... we returned home four days ago and already we want to return to the wonderful city of Amsterdam and this splendid hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

It was great to read such positive feedback like yours and I thank you for that. We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them with our fabulous service given by out attentive Sofitel Ambassadors.

Our utmost reward is to hear that you are very satisfied and this is why my team and I were so happy to read your lovely words.

The entire team is looking forward to your return to Amsterdam and Sofitel Legend the Grand.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanzeidan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 21,645 - ₹ 65,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing