We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,945)
Filter reviews
2,945 results
Traveller rating
2,247
466
137
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,247
466
137
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtflying dutchmanbutler servicehermes toiletriesrestaurant bridgesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelfive star hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citythe location is perfectnespresso machineanne frank housevan gogh museum
Filter
Updating list...
1,540 - 1,545 of 2,945 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Registration staff provided impeccable service!
Lovely old hotel, clean and comfortable.
Inner courtyard provided a great bar and table service for a quiet dinner. Just keep moving your feet and the little mice scurry away.(not a problem unless you have a major mice phobia)
Rooms clean and bed very comfy, albeit a big saggy. Great shower.
Stained glass staircase very beautiful, along with large pieces of artwork through out hotel.
Breakfast, altho expensive, is nicely arranged, served and fresh.
Brick drive being repaired, therefore some construction.
Only negative, and it really was no buggy if you close your window... noisy side street on a warm summer night.
Would recommend this hotel to all, and if ever in Amsterdam, I will add on a few days to stay in this fantastic old hotel for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the service of our Sofitel ambassadors, the comfort of your room as well as our inner garden where our restaurant Bridges serves its award winning dishes.

I am happy to read that, despite the fact that you have witnessed mice in our garden are, you were able to fully enjoy your stay with us. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this and please rest assured that we have taken drastic measurements to exterminate this problem.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near feature.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here overnight recently and it was a great experience. My room had a view out over the canal, and it was peaceful. The hotel is just down the road from the red light district and close to some coffee shops and I'd say it's just at the start of the acceptable areas of Amsterdam, so just outside the area which has all the drugs, drunkards and prostitution. Breakfast was a dream, with a huge choice of fresh food, pastries and fruit, and all the drinks you can imagine. It would be difficult to fault this hotel, a true marvel for the luxury customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

It is so wonderful to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

Indeed our central yet quiet location is a real asset. A lot of things are going on in the lively centre of Amsterdam, and after a busy day, guests are delighted to enter a peaceful atmosphere mixing Dutch tradition and French elegance.

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great breakfast experience in our restaurant Bridges.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed our first week in an AirBNB property which was nicely located but which fell short on beauty, comfort, and amenities. So we booked the Grand to live it up our final three nights and were we ever glad we did.

The Grand is beautiful! The Yves Delorme linens and towels, copious amounts of Evian water, chocolates, big comfy bed, cushy bathrobes, fabulous room service, and the attentiveness of the staff told us we had really come up in the world from our AirBNB place.

Full of wonderful history and beautifully restored, the hotel is well-located in the center of activity but wonderfully quiet for sleeping. Our room looked over a beautiful canal ... we returned home four days ago and already we want to return to the wonderful city of Amsterdam and this splendid hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

It was great to read such positive feedback like yours and I thank you for that. We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them with our fabulous service given by out attentive Sofitel Ambassadors.

Our utmost reward is to hear that you are very satisfied and this is why my team and I were so happy to read your lovely words.

The entire team is looking forward to your return to Amsterdam and Sofitel Legend the Grand.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our first trip to Amsterdam. We wanted to stay in the center of the city, and in a nice place that would serve as our home away from home. The Sofitel Grand was terrific. Our room was spacious, functional, beautiful, and even had wonderful views of one of Amsterdam's famous canals. It was tastefully contemporary, which is our preference. The staff was fantastic--welcoming, helpful, always friendly, and always professional. The amenities in the hotel were very nice. We had our best meal of our stay in their restaurant Bridges (we reviewed that separately), greatly enjoyed the "library," a very comfortable room in which one could get food and drink while enjoying books, newspapers, and a fireplace, and the outdoor courtyard was beautiful. breakfast was included with our package and it was a wonderful buffet that included many local delicacies.

The hotel is walking distance from most of the major attractions for first-time visitors to Amsterdam. We greatly enjoyed out first trip to Amsterdam and will return. When we do, we'll stay here again. No need for us to consider alternatives.

Room Tip: The canal views are terrific if you can get a room with one.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbursten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

We are delighted to read that your first visit to Amsterdam was such an enjoyable one. Your words have served as an encouragement to all Sofitel Ambassadors to keep on providing such high standard of services.

The Executive Chef felt really proud when hearing that you have had such an enjoyable meal at our restaurant Bridges as he uses only the best products.

Do please contact us directly when you know your travel plans for the future, and we would be happy to make the necessary arrangements. We look forward to continuing to be your home away from home..

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews