We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only a few 5 star hotels deserve the rating. This is one of them.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
SOUTH WEST
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Only a few 5 star hotels deserve the rating. This is one of them.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I decided on a mini break in July to Amsterdam and chose the Sofitel Grand hotel. We could not have chosen better, not just for it's central position (4 mins walk from Dam square) but as it turned out the level of customer service as well. We've stayed in numerous 5 star hotels around the world and rate this as one of the finest in terms of overall pleasure to stay in.

What really made the Sofitel stand out was the high level of customer service. Not pretentious or over fussy, just plain good old fashioned service. We never met an employee who did not seem happy and pleased to help, and even at breakfast (which in itself came way beyond our expectations complete with Moet champagne if you wanted). Each and every table server new us by name and couldn't have been more helpful and polite. Most 5 star hotels will offer the same facilities as this one but few are as comfortable and welcoming as this.

The hotel reception was full of bronze statuettes and works of art which created a welcome and comfortable feel. There was a quiet library as well as a sitting area and an outside courtyard for those dry and sunny days. Afternoon tea out there was a delight with live, yet subtle music played on sunday afternoons by members of the local music academy.

We had a good sized room overlooking one of the canals (room 404) which looked recently decorated. The room was very comfortable although for some having only a walk in shower and no bath might be an issue, but it didn't bother us (it was exceptionally clean).

The management of the hotel must be commended and we would readily stay here again and thank all the staff for being so nice.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better and try to book with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITSMEAGAINSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such enchanting feedback.

It is wonderful to read your Grand words about our high level of services on each and every department at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We want to indulge all of our guests and I am very pleased that we had the opportunity to indulge you.

I also would like to thank you for recommending our Afternoon Tea served in our garden with live music on Sunday afternoons during the summer.

It is indeed correct that recently the entire hotel has been renovated which resulted in a blend of history and modern design. I would like to inform you that we offer Luxury rooms which do offer a separate bathtub and rain shower and also have a view over the canals.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,828
    391
    114
    50
    31
See reviews for
380
1,204
97
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Staff was welcoming and polite. Rooms very comfortable. Great location in center of the city. Would stay here again. I would book and confirm reservations directly with the hotel. We had originally booked through The Luxury Hotel and Resort Collection, hoping to get the promised breakfast, and upgrade if available. However, the Grand Sofitel had never heard from them directly and the reservations had been booked by a third party. So none the perks from our credit card or booking through the Luxury Hotel and Resort Collection website applied. I am glad that I confirmed my reservations directly with the hotel. However, none of this above misunderstanding stood in the way of enjoying our hotel experiences. The restaurant Bridges, is amazing, which I'll put in separate review.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asilv250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased but most of all thankful to read your positive review about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. I am very grateful about the beautiful words you wrote about my team and will certainly pass these on.

I am sorry to read that your booking via The Luxury Hotel and Resort Collection did not came through as well as the promised benefits. Nevertheless, I am very happy to read that we could make the booking for you directly at our hotel and that none of this influenced your stay.

We look forward to your next stay here at The Grand.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed one night for business in Amsterdam (Previously stayed at the Hotel Pulitzer, an even nicer property). The location was ideal, easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Concierge recommended a canal cruise up the street which is not to be missed. Only complaint I had was that the restaurant didn't offer an a la carte or lighter breakfast option - just a full buffet. I was directed to the "library", where I could get the continental breakfast option. Not a great setting for business colleagues to start their day. Garden is nice for drinks, but be aware there were numerous mice scurrying around the ground, so ladies, keep your bags UP off teh ground. Didn't give the hotel 5 stars because my room was EXTREMELY small - much too small for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommy2ena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the ideal location of The Grand and the canal cruise you have experienced recommended by our Concierge department.

Regarding the breakfast, I apologize for not providing you with a proper alternative in our restaurant Bridges. I can certainly understand that was not a perfect start of the day.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you witnessed mice in our garden area. Please rest assured that we have taken drastic measurements to exterminate this problem.

I am also very sorry to hear that you have found the room too small.

Besides the issues described above, I hope that we will have the opportunity and the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with the family and it is just perfect if your looking for top class, we drove to Amsterdam and parked our car at the hotel. Yes it is pricey but if this is what your looking for then it is the best place to be.we will come back .

Room Tip: we stayed in 303 and the children in 305 lovely rooms looking over the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for expressing your extreme satisfaction regarding the high level of service at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with the family so much.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The first thing one notices when arriving and entering the exquisite lobby/hotel is the historical architecture and modern interiors blending so beautifully together. The second (and more importantly) the staff. These group of people are flawless. Just perfect and so professional without any airs. They do not miss a beat. The location of this hotel is fantastic. Great bedding too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillsNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this delightful review on TripAdvisor.
When reading your review, I felt very proud of my entire team who provided you with the highest level of service you so much deserve. I will certainly not fail to share these wonderful words with the team.
It was indeed our goal to blend the history of the establishment, which goes all the way back to the 15th century, with the modern design of Sybille de Margerie.

We look forward to your next stay here at The Grand.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,909 - ₹ 51,989
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing