We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel The Grand is Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Sofitel Legend The Grand is grand indeed. Located within the Central Canal Ring you know that you will be staying at a grand hotel the minute you walk into the central cobblestoned courtyard. We were greeted by several doorman who handled our luggage, then escorted us to the front desk. Equally impressive was the courteousness and thoroughness of the staff. Our luggage arrived wiithin minutes of arriving in our superior room. Room 410 (top floor) faced one of canals. We had a lovely view. Our room was well-appointed with a very comfortable bed and down-duvet. The bathroom has a wonderful walk-in shower with both rain-shower head and a separate shower wand. Towels hung on a warming rack which was very nice. The first morning we treated ourselves to the scrumptious buffet breakfast The waitstaff was very attentive and pleasant. After a long day of walking Amsterdam we took advantage of the in-house swimming pool and sauna. The spa is serene, quiet, clean and well stocked with towels and a perfect way to refresh. The Sofitel is only several blocks away from the Red Light District and Dam Square where you can hop onto any tram or bus to take you around Amsterdam. The concierge was always helpful in arranging dinner reservation even at the last minute. Check out was very easy and the staff had arranged for a taxi to take us to Schipol Airport. The Sofitel Leged The Grand is a superb luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycnative1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,477 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here mid May and were very impressed. Our junior suite was large with a lovely view of the canal. Our Room was spacious very comfortable and we loved the history and location of the hotel. We were going on a cruise for two weeks and Paul (concierge) said when we return two weeks later we could leave our luggage at the hotel for the day as our flight was only at night. We were very grateful for that. All the staff we met were wonderful and very friendly and accommodating. We would definitly return to Sofitel Grand legend. We were within close walking distance to Dam square, good restaurants and shopping.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank traveller77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioTbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed four nights at The Grand. The hotel has an excelent location, you can walk to the main Amsterdam's attractions. Clean sheets and rooms. Great pilows. The bed was too soft for me, then I asked the reception and they fixed this "problem" in a few minutes. My room had a Nespresso coffee machine and a great shower. The give you still water and nespresso coffee as a complementary. The pool and the room service were really great either.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows to the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel-FLN-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam for one night in April 2012 prior to a river cruise, and were very impressed by the ambience of the hotel and the service at the restaurant. The hotel was a convent at one time and then became a town hall, but the rooms and public areas are totally modern. There is a nice inner courtyard and a sculpture exhibition during our stay. The Bridges restaurant served excellent seafood. I had dinner there by myself because my wife was not feeling well, and the waiter managed to serve me very quickly at my request, and I finished my dinner in 30 minutes! The breakfast next morning included an amazing outlay of fresh fruits, juices, cold cuts, bread and hot items to order, and we had one of the best waitresses we ever encountered. We would rate this breakfast experience perhaps only second to the one at the Liao Liao Resort in Argentina. The hotel is also located near the Dam Square and an easy walk to many places of interest. This was our third visit to Amsterdam, and if we go back there again, this would be the hotel of our choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,426 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
899 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,214 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 20,472 - ₹ 56,903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Accorhotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing