We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,945)
Filter reviews
2,945 results
Traveller rating
2,247
466
137
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,247
466
137
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtflying dutchmanbutler servicehermes toiletriesrestaurant bridgesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelfive star hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citythe location is perfectnespresso machineanne frank housevan gogh museum
Filter
Updating list...
1,753 - 1,758 of 2,945 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2011

First off, the location cannot be beat. While it is a block off hte Red Light District, it is like a little oasis--very quiet and relaxing. I would recommend you opt for a canal view room as it is just beautiful viewing the canal, especially in the middle of the night. The price was reasonable for a 5 star hotel. The room was comfortable if a bit tight. The bathroom was narrow and a bit weird. The hotel restaurant (Bridges) was just ok--a bit pretentious and overpriced--but the breakfast buffet excellent at 33 Euros. The pool was small and changing rooms tight but nice to have. Check in easy, nice outdoor courtyard and small bar. Coffee shop Greenhouse down the block with a friendly mix of folks.

All in all, a great experience with a few minor flaws.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in the middle of the city centre. It is nice to hear that you liked your room with canal view and the serene courtyard. Furthermore we are glad that you appreciated our breakfast buffet so much.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights with breakfast included.
The location is perfect, 2 minute walk to the centre square and right next to the red light district, even if you don’t want the red light district this Hotel is still worth the stay. The service at the front desk and the concierge cannot get better.
The rooms are decent size with the best beds & pillows, like sleeping in a marshmallow, (maybe that had something to do with the cake I ate)
I did not use the restaurant but it always seemed busy. As for the breakfast it is very very good, very fresh, they will make whatever you want and it even includes champagne, you will not get better anywhere in the world.
The only down side it has no bath (but the shower is large and very good) and for some reason no free wifi in your room, only the foyer. In today’s world I cannot understand why Hotels don’t include this as it cost them nothing. These things did not bother me as I am happy to shower and I was on holidays and did not want to know about the PC.
This hotel is a true 5 star hotel with best service you could ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear Guest, We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam so much. It is nice to hear that you liked the bed and pillows and that you were so pleased with our breakfast buffet.
We want to inform you that for the wifi in your room you always have the choice between free wifi and high-speed wifi at an extra charge, we are very sorry this was not communicated correctly to you. Furthermore we do have rooms with a bath but this depends on the room type you booked.
We want to thank you for your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have just returned from the Sofitel, which is in a very lovely building with warm, welcoming and attentive staff. Everything is done to ensure that their guests feel comfortable. Breakfast is a sumptuous affair - probably one of the best I have had anywhere. So good in fact that we just lingered for much longer than we would normally do over breakfast. Ours was a ' superior ' room and whilst being very comfortable, was quite compact. The pool is calm and peaceful and very welcome after a busy sight seeing day. The location of the hotel is perfect as most important locations are within walking distance (or borrow/hire bicycles from the hotel).

The only thing that would have made the stay perfect was if our bed could have been made properly, without any creases in the too large quilt cover for the quilt, & if the bottom sheet had been properly laid on the mattress so it could be firmly tucked in. I had to remake the bed on our first 2 nights & yes I could have called someone to do it, but we were ready for bed & had already got in to go to sleep, so it was just quicker & easier to do it myself. I told reception about it after the 2nd night & certainly it was better on the 3rd night, but I still had to readjust the (now better fitting) quilt cover to get rid of the creases on the underside of the quilt. It is really not difficult to make a bed and in a hotel like this it should be perfect. Once the bedding was properly in place, we slept really well as the beds are very comfortable.

So overall, if you get a maid who can make a bed you will have a lovely time in this hotel. If I knew I wouldn't have to make my bed I would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service of our staff, the breakfast buffet in our restaurant Bridges and the pool in our SoSpa. However we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the fact that your bed was not made properly. This is certainly not our style and we will take all the steps needed to ensure your next stay will be even more perfect by delivering you a proper made bed.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon!
Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Sofitel The Grand was our second stop on a 4 stop honeymoon. The hotel gave us a complimentary upgrade and champagne to celebrate the occasion. Aside from the upgrade, the staff was extremely warm and welcoming upon check-in. They escorted us to our beautiful room which overlooked the courtyard and walked us through all of the features of the hotel room.

The room was well decorated and very clean. The bathroom was amazing, with a dual head shower, a large soaking tub and his and hers sinks. Also, the location of the hotel itself was great as we were within walking distance of the city center. We both used the gym, swimming pool and steam room (all complimentary) during our stay. While the gym was definitely tiny, the indoor pool was a decent size. The concierge’s recommendations were all a hit from Pancake Bakery, to a new Vietnamese restaurant, to a great wine bar. Even though the weather wasn’t ideal (pockets of rain the whole weekend) our trip was excellent because of Sofitel The Grand. We will definitely be back and wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2011

Dear Guest, We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much and especially because it was part of your honeymoon. It is nice to hear that you liked your room and bathroom, the location and that you had the opportunity to make use of our So|Spa. As well as that the concierge’s recommendations were to your liking. We hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was just perfect. What a beautiful atmosphere and nice people. We stayed in a Prestige Suite (124) and the room was very, very nice. Could not be better. Very spacious and clean. The service we had was outstanding, especially at Reception and Guest Relations, beautiful and very kind ladies!! We defenitely are going back to the Grand. What an amazing hotel..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passport297366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Guest, We are charmed to hear that you had a great stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the room and the atmosphere in the hotel. As well as that you appreciated our service so much. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews