We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect antidote to the weather...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Amsterdam can be a bit rainy, which is to be expected, but on one of our days it was absolutely torrential all day. This is the perfect hotel to be as we never had to leave. we ventured out into the cold and rain for a bit, but came back to a spa visit and a little time in the sauna to warm up. Service here is definitely first rate, Gabrielle went out of our way upon check in (room was not ready) - but we had an upgrade to a junior suite and their IT person came by while we were waiting and hooked up our internet. From making dinner reservations to ensuring all our needs were met, this hotel met all of our needs. Central location and very easy to navigate from there.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkat1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to hear that –despite the weather conditions- you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our So|Spa became your refuge from the rain. We are also delighted to hear that you so actively made use of our services and that we met all your needs to make your stay a comfortable one.
We are looking forward to receive you in the future!
Yours, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,609 - 1,613 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

First off, the location cannot be beat. While it is a block off hte Red Light District, it is like a little oasis--very quiet and relaxing. I would recommend you opt for a canal view room as it is just beautiful viewing the canal, especially in the middle of the night. The price was reasonable for a 5 star hotel. The room was comfortable if a bit tight. The bathroom was narrow and a bit weird. The hotel restaurant (Bridges) was just ok--a bit pretentious and overpriced--but the breakfast buffet excellent at 33 Euros. The pool was small and changing rooms tight but nice to have. Check in easy, nice outdoor courtyard and small bar. Coffee shop Greenhouse down the block with a friendly mix of folks.

All in all, a great experience with a few minor flaws.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in the middle of the city centre. It is nice to hear that you liked your room with canal view and the serene courtyard. Furthermore we are glad that you appreciated our breakfast buffet so much.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights with breakfast included.
The location is perfect, 2 minute walk to the centre square and right next to the red light district, even if you don’t want the red light district this Hotel is still worth the stay. The service at the front desk and the concierge cannot get better.
The rooms are decent size with the best beds & pillows, like sleeping in a marshmallow, (maybe that had something to do with the cake I ate)
I did not use the restaurant but it always seemed busy. As for the breakfast it is very very good, very fresh, they will make whatever you want and it even includes champagne, you will not get better anywhere in the world.
The only down side it has no bath (but the shower is large and very good) and for some reason no free wifi in your room, only the foyer. In today’s world I cannot understand why Hotels don’t include this as it cost them nothing. These things did not bother me as I am happy to shower and I was on holidays and did not want to know about the PC.
This hotel is a true 5 star hotel with best service you could ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear Guest, We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam so much. It is nice to hear that you liked the bed and pillows and that you were so pleased with our breakfast buffet.
We want to inform you that for the wifi in your room you always have the choice between free wifi and high-speed wifi at an extra charge, we are very sorry this was not communicated correctly to you. Furthermore we do have rooms with a bath but this depends on the room type you booked.
We want to thank you for your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have just returned from the Sofitel, which is in a very lovely building with warm, welcoming and attentive staff. Everything is done to ensure that their guests feel comfortable. Breakfast is a sumptuous affair - probably one of the best I have had anywhere. So good in fact that we just lingered for much longer than we would normally do over breakfast. Ours was a ' superior ' room and whilst being very comfortable, was quite compact. The pool is calm and peaceful and very welcome after a busy sight seeing day. The location of the hotel is perfect as most important locations are within walking distance (or borrow/hire bicycles from the hotel).

The only thing that would have made the stay perfect was if our bed could have been made properly, without any creases in the too large quilt cover for the quilt, & if the bottom sheet had been properly laid on the mattress so it could be firmly tucked in. I had to remake the bed on our first 2 nights & yes I could have called someone to do it, but we were ready for bed & had already got in to go to sleep, so it was just quicker & easier to do it myself. I told reception about it after the 2nd night & certainly it was better on the 3rd night, but I still had to readjust the (now better fitting) quilt cover to get rid of the creases on the underside of the quilt. It is really not difficult to make a bed and in a hotel like this it should be perfect. Once the bedding was properly in place, we slept really well as the beds are very comfortable.

So overall, if you get a maid who can make a bed you will have a lovely time in this hotel. If I knew I wouldn't have to make my bed I would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service of our staff, the breakfast buffet in our restaurant Bridges and the pool in our SoSpa. However we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the fact that your bed was not made properly. This is certainly not our style and we will take all the steps needed to ensure your next stay will be even more perfect by delivering you a proper made bed.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon!
Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Sofitel The Grand was our second stop on a 4 stop honeymoon. The hotel gave us a complimentary upgrade and champagne to celebrate the occasion. Aside from the upgrade, the staff was extremely warm and welcoming upon check-in. They escorted us to our beautiful room which overlooked the courtyard and walked us through all of the features of the hotel room.

The room was well decorated and very clean. The bathroom was amazing, with a dual head shower, a large soaking tub and his and hers sinks. Also, the location of the hotel itself was great as we were within walking distance of the city center. We both used the gym, swimming pool and steam room (all complimentary) during our stay. While the gym was definitely tiny, the indoor pool was a decent size. The concierge’s recommendations were all a hit from Pancake Bakery, to a new Vietnamese restaurant, to a great wine bar. Even though the weather wasn’t ideal (pockets of rain the whole weekend) our trip was excellent because of Sofitel The Grand. We will definitely be back and wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2011

Dear Guest, We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much and especially because it was part of your honeymoon. It is nice to hear that you liked your room and bathroom, the location and that you had the opportunity to make use of our So|Spa. As well as that the concierge’s recommendations were to your liking. We hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,427 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,220 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 20,477 - ₹ 57,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing