We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Ranked #86 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tunisia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I travel to Amsterdam about once a year for fun. We chose the Conscious hotel because it looked descent and there were rooms available. The whole experience was a little disappointing. The hotel staff were professional enough, and although the rooms were really small they were clean. The hotel felt very corporate and it was clear that their policies prioritized their making money over creating an enjoyable authentic experience for travelers. Sure every hotel has to make money, but you shouldn't feel it when you walk in. Corporate headquarters must have decided to make every guest sign of on the fee structure for smoking in the rooms (150euro) or messing with the smoke detector (250euro).

Nothing really lived up to the cool cafe vibe they attempted to create in the lobby. The whole "conscious" theme is a bit of a sham. Putting little environmental signs all over the room and eliminating the shower curtain in favor of an open door seemed to be the extent of the green design. The dumb sayings plastered on the door of every room are tacky.

The tram is close by, but it is sill a bit of a hassle getting into downtown. It is a solid 20 minute brisk walk to Leidsplien.

I won't stay with them again. There are too many other cool hotels in better areas at the same price point.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_will_take_you_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conscious_Hotels, Manager at Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry you did not like your stay in our hotel.

I would like to respond to two of your arguments:

1.) The warning about smoking in the room or tampering with the smoke detector seems only fair to us. We feel that preventing is better than curing. We very much value our guests' safety and therefore want to pay special attention to this subject at check in.

2.) Our efforts on sustainability go far beyond leaving out a shower curtain and for these efforts we have been awarded a Green Key Gold label.

All in all this does not change that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you and I both would have liked you to.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    555
    163
    52
    22
See reviews for
107
642
70
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel Conscious is modern, clean and quiet; the bathroom is palatial compared to most Amsterdam hotels (where it is--literally--a water closet!); mattress is very comfortable. I appreciated the ecoconsciousness and the reduction of waste at this hotel.

The hotel is right on the no. 1 tram line (stop Overtoomsesluis), which makes getting around very easy. From Schiphol, you can take the train station to A'dam Lelyland and then the no. 1 tram from there--much less hassle than going to Central Station. This is a nice place to stay outside of the hysterical center, which is full of stoned tourists and dingy, dirty hotels, but still convenient.

I didn't have the breakfast, but the bar in the front lobby serves coffee and pastries, which were good. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: There are elevators, but the hotel straddles 2 buildings connected by an overpass; travelers with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KR1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Very new decor & clean room and the size is acceptable. Price/Quality ratio is very high. Breakfast is very delicious. It is located right next to the tram station and 20 mins from Amsterdam Centraal station to there. Nearby you may find a restaurant called Pizza Bakker which serves excellent pizza!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvisibleMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Could not have picked a better location. I travelled alone with my 13 yr old daughter for familyvisit and decided to spend 2 days in Amsterdam. Very easy to get ot hotel from Schiphol, the tram stops right in front of hotel. We did not expect to get a room ar 9 am but since the were not fully booked the night before they checked us in. Thank you very much!
The hotel is located in a relatuve quiet part of town, only 5min by tram to get into the more popular areas. The Vondelpark is located behind the park and I definitely recommend a stroll through there.
Hotel was clean, comfortable beds and very kind staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at the hotel the first weekend in January, attracted by the decent room price.

Found hotel to be clean, modern & functional. Communal reception / bar area was a really nice environment to sit, read / chill out in. Fab window seats allows great opportunity to watch the world go by. Drinks prices were quite expensive for a hotel out of the central area (perhaps that's why!). Rooms were on the small side (expected for a city hotel) and the minimal design did feel a little sparse but was spot on for a weekend base to explore the city.

Staff were really friendly & gave us a great recommendation for a small nearby cafe to eat at & we enjoyed a delicious lunch there. We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning for convenience and whilst we liked it we were aware that there are cheaper alternatives elsewhere.

Hotel location is out of the busy central part of Amsterdam but very easily accessible by tram right outside the hotel. Buy a 3 day tram pass and getting around the city is never an issue.

Vondelpark sits behind the hotel and with a very short walk to the park entrance we enjoyed several strolls through the park and as a route into the city, choosing this as an alternative to the tram.

We would stay at the hotel again & would recommend it to anyone looking to explore the city on a budget. Rated 4* for what it is, not in comparison to ALL hotels & categories.

Constructive feedback for management: found reception check in / out slow so somewhat frustrating. Nail that to further improve customer experience :-) Shower was good but spray did go all over the bathroom floor so care needed when stepping out not to slip...bigger bath mat?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#85 of 369 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#76 of 369 in Amsterdam
135 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#106 of 369 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#112 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,759 reviews
Hotel Casa
#67 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,778 reviews
Volkshotel
#39 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Property: Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Address: Overtoom 519 /521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,483 - ₹ 16,560
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing