We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to think of a better place to stay”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #24 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Francois is a delightful host who not only provided an excellent breakfast every morning - fresh criossant and bread, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham etc. but was also full of recommendations for what to do and where to eat. He is very proud of The Posthoorn and will tell you the interesting history of the house. The location is fantastic, the rooms and beds very warm and comfortable and it's a lively area in what is surely the most interesting part of Amsterdam to stay as a visitor. Highly recommended. We'll be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms looking onto the canal at the front of the house but all 3 rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We agree with everything said on the 1st April review. We will stay here again. Need to book well in advance tho! The breakfast was delicious, blueberries, strawberries, mango etc.lovely patries too. Having the breakfast delivered to our room was so relaxing. Having dtayed in a "corporate" hotel in London enroute made us resolve to look for great B&B's more often.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROGER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

After a 10 hour plus flight, airport baggage mishaps, I arrived at the Posthoorn 3 hours past my scheduled time. The B&B is not on the normal bus route from the airport. I was lucky that the bus driver saw my dismay and 55 minutes later I was at the postcard view buliding. Francios , the owner ,gave me a choice of two rooms. The downstairs flat, with its seperate outside entrance is very steep ( if u have large luggage as I did, it would be cumbersome), the room is clean but a bitt to confining for my taste. Also a little musty odor was present. The other room available is on the main floor and at the back with an outside garden view . The moment I walked in I felt I was at home. You go thru a small kitchenette area, then enter a hugh room with a queen bed,large sofa,and wall to wall windows that bring in the light ( even on a rainy day) ,an updated modern bath and no outside noise. The room has a TV ,comfortable bed, a window/door that goes to the small terrace with table and chairs , the small kitchenette with ample supply of coffee, cream, wine,beer and soda are all u need for a few days of rest .

I do want to add that their was no phone, no "tolietries" as u would receive at a regular hotel, but u do have a regular size liquid soap and shampoo .ALso ,do not forget your travel book/papers regarding the area . Franscios was limited in the "tourist" info stuff but he did have a map thus I was able to navigate thru out the city with ease. On that note, the positive things for the location of this B & B is that I was able to go a fantastic flea market that was right accross the canal and I purchased wonderful goods . They have this market every Monday!!! ALso ,the area has many local bakers, cheese stores, fresh food markets ,candy stores and of course the ample pubs/restaurants. plus the palce is clean,private and historical . I would return again ,only to book the same room or the front room with a view of the canal.

If you like to shop ,have too much luggage to dragg on the cobbble stone streets to catch local transport & thus have to use private trtansport ,bring one moderate size lightweight wheeled bag ,then u can use the local transport to the airport ( save your money for local goods ).

ENjoy your stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadowbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This place was a really pleasant surprise. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious, comfortable and clean. The room we stayed in was more like a studio flat with a small kitchen area and breakfast bar. Breakfast was delivered each morning at our requested time and was excellent, consisting of breads, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh squeezed OJ etc... Coffee and tea facilities are in the room including an espresso maker. The owner was very helpful and friendly, clearly taking great pride in what he does. Location was perfect too. Just in the edge of the Jordaan, it was 10 minutes brisk walk to Central Station with lots of small cafes and bars on the doorstep yet did not seem like a tourist trap. Most of the main attractions were within 30 minutes stroll along the canals. Much better than any hotel we could have chosen. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbornio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

What a wonderful experience we had just a few days ago! Evrythinh is just right! The room, the dinner, the service and the surroundings. The hotel is near Amsterdam. Just 25 minutes by bus. Monnickendam, Volendam and Marken are real old Dutch cities and are nice to visit. The days seem to last longer when you stay in the Posthoorn!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BOb79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 338 in Amsterdam
184 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#30 of 338 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#27 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Vanguard
The Vanguard
#17 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 11,833 - ₹ 13,589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing