We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional food”

former restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #52 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Small, cosy family-owned restaurant. Excellent quality - price relation. Nice selection of wines. Situated at the canal side, not far from the Anne Frank House
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My girlfriend and I ate here on 10th Feb and had a superb time. The food was exceptional, washed down with a very good Poully Fume and all served by polite and efficient staff.

Our bill was €102 for two people.

Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frans1951, Owner at former restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear guest, I'm glad you liked the wine: my daughter Cleo made the wine selection. Thank you for your kind review!! Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    349
    70
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great restaraunt, could not have been better”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Having spent a few days in Amsterdam, we tried tripadvisor's recommendation, and we were not disappointed. The restaruant was very nice, the staff very friendly. I had the mixed grill, and the steak was my favorite. We had been to the "number 1" steak place the day before and a medium rare steak arrived Pittsburgh Rare (browned on both sides). Here, the steak portion arrived perfectly prepared and sliced. The side dishes were excellent, as well. One of our party ordered the fish cheeks dish and reported it to be excellent. However, don't forget to make room for dessert.

I had the Sticky Toffee Pie. It was amazing. The owner's daughter overheard my comments and promised to send the recipe to me.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark7735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frans1951, Owner at former restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Hello dear guest, I indeed received the note from my daughter Cleo and have sent you the recipe in the meantime!! Please let me know sometime the result of your effort. You're right: if you order your steak medium-rare you must get it that way. I'm glad we fulfilled your expectations and you had a pleasant stay with us. Best regrads, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tremendous meal”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to Brasserie Vlaming. Having read the great reviews on here, our expectations were fully met. Nice, comfortable setting, great food (cod and monkfish cheeks and then sticky toffee pudding were both outstanding!) and good service. Cost us £70 for a nice 3 course meal (sharing starter and dessert) with wine but it represented good value in our view given the quality. Easily one of the best meals we've enjoyed anywhere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frans1951, Owner at former restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to write this friendly review. We indeed always try to keep the quality - price relation at the right level. I'm glad you experienced that we succeeded in that. Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing place!! A must for your visit!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I never go anywhere without reading up on reviews so after reading so many positive feedback on this place, I decided to take my husband here for his birthday meal in our special weekend away. I made the reservation through e-mail. The response was quick. I made some last minute changes and they were very accommodating.
The setting in the restarent is relaxed and chilled out. Great for a romantic dinner. Better yet the food was AMAZING! I really wanted to order the sharing plater for starter but we don't eat pork, when I expressed my concern. The owner went out of his way and made a non pork sharing plater for us. My husband was so impressed with the food he swears this is the best starter he EVER had! The main course of the duck and mix grill was also fab but the best part of the meal was the dessert. You must have the sticky toffee pie (pudding). It was out of this world!
The owner was so charming, We had a great conversation and by the end it felt we are talking to an old friend. The owner is so passionate about the food and the service. I promise you this is the place to eat in Amsterdam. Good value, great service and excellent food. A must go when you are in Amsterdam!!!!

Ps. trust me. Me and my husband are not easily impressed...;)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank wendolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frans1951, Owner at former restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear guest, you make me feel a bit confused after all your compliments!! And it's really the whole team which makes our restaurant what it is. But anyway, many thanks for your kind words. Of course we try to fulfil special wishes and I'm glad that also this time the kitchen staff could adjust the Bites platter. I hope you found last Sunday your "lost" friend... Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good steak with lovely desert”
Reviewed 26 February 2012 via mobile

we were a group of three and had wonderful time here.don't even think about leaving without eating their favored desert.

Helpful?
Thank TuranB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frans1951, Owner at former restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear visitor, you're right: already for over 5 years the Sticky Toffee Pie (others say pudding) is our favourite dessert. I'm sure the coming 5 years it will remain on the menu!! Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed former restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to former restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing