We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly disappointing”

Restaurant Bar Kantoor
Get food delivered
Ranked #1,527 of 4,567 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Westerpark
Description: Bar Kantoor is located in a beautiful monumental building at the Westergasfabriek. Everybody is welcome, from hotel guests of the Conscious Hotel Westerpark, to Amsterdammers, from young parents to business men & women. Bar Kantoor is open all day, with a large terrace, a quirky menu and regular exciting events. You can get breakfast, lunch and dinner and every Friday afternoon it’s time for after-work drinks. The menu offers a range of different things, from croissants to eggs benedict, from club sandwich to pickled red cabbage with scallops, from sirloin steak to celeriac lasagne. Everything that is served in Bar Kantoor is 100% organic, even the drinks and spirits in the bar. In addition to regular drinks, beers and wines, the bar also serves kombucha and well-developed signature cocktails. Bar Kantoor is very spacious, with high ceilings and lots of sunlight that comes from the green park side in the mornings and from the other side in the afternoon.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, great service, friendly staff, lovely decor but I'm sorry the food was really disappointing. The dishes on the menu sounded great but it was a different story when they arrived. Sorry guys.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robertmardle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2020 via mobile

The place is nice and has a sweet local vibe. However the G&Ts are not that great - I think they use the same tonic for all of them.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank j84k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaVervoorn, General Manager at Restaurant Bar Kantoor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2020

Hi Jue,

Thanks for your review! Your feedback about the G&T's is correct. Since we only work with organic products, we don't have different kinds of tonics in our assortiment. However, the GIN is always different and organic too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

Only happened upon this place as we are lazy and it was attached to our hotel and we had been out clubbing for New Year Eve and well into New Years Day.

First off interesting selection of beers and friendly staff.

Tried to order the pickles a few days before but the order hadnt gone through and thus I didnt have high expectations.

Nothing was really taking my fancy on the menu so thought I would take a chance on steak tartare. Turned out to be an amazing decision. After one bite of a sweet potato crisp expectations went up. Soft and soggy but at the same time very tasty. The tartare was almost worth travelling to Amsterdam for.

Great start to 2019.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank nagasaki74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaVervoorn, Manager at Restaurant Bar Kantoor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Hi there,

Thanks for your positive words :) Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2019

Really welcoming and friendly service. Bar menu is good, drinks are amazing (try the cocktails!) But the price is a little over what you get. I think this may be due to the organic menu? The food tastes great though so overall , worth the spend!

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank PurpleFlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaVervoorn, Manager at Restaurant Bar Kantoor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Hi there,

Thanks for your compliments!
Indeed, organic costs a little extra. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Had lunch today which was ok.Nice staff , great beautiful space.Well decorated.Bit expensive for what we had.Portions could be better.Not impressed by the desert menu.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaVervoorn, Manager at Restaurant Bar Kantoor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Hi Rita,
Thanks for your review!
We have a new menu since today, so hopefully we can impress you with this new dessert menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Bar Kantoor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Bar Kantoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.