We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a hotel than a hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #148 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“More like a hotel than a hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and as most people have said it is more like a modern budget hotel than a hostel.
Our room was very new and quite spacious (double room) which is always nice after you've had a big day of walking.
The location is perfect - close to the museums as well as the lovely Vondelpark. It's only a 15 min walk in to the centre where there is plenty of choice for eating and drinking or you can catch the tram.
Breakfast is on offer for around €4/5 with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, meats etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausamanda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    407
    153
    45
    43
See reviews for
75
139
152
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed in Amsterdam for 2 days and the trip didn't start well when I had checked into another hostel (won't mention names!) The next day I went online and picked a new hostel for the second night, not knowing what to expect really. I was so so so glad to have picked this place. As previous reviews mention- it's like a hotel at a hostel price. Good location near the park, and very clean and professional. Every time I go back I will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDesigner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in March 2012 and was very impressed with the location and cleanliness of the hostel, especially the shower/bathroom facilities. The hostel is within a stone's throw of the Van Gogh (duh) and Rijksmusem and is only a 15ish minute walk from the center of the city and whatever you want to do there.

The hostel is in a pretty nice part of the city (the next street over is the "high end" shopping street) so it feels very safe, all of my female friends felt comfortable walking around at night there. My 6 person room was a tad cramped, but the beds were comfortable. A pillow and towel were included in the rate, a major plus! The breakfast cost 5 euro but was well worth the value.

Will definitely stay here the next time I am in Amsterdam, I'm sure I'll be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmandula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed her in Feb 2012 and I was not disappointed with it being a hostel, it is in a good safe location of Amsterdam, so safe that there is a nursery/ school on its doorstep. The hotel was clean with friendly staff who were very helpful, particularly with providing us with an extra heater as the weather was in its minus 10 in Feb, Arriving on a early flight we headed to the hotel in the hope we could leave our luggage in a safe room, to our pleasant surprise we were able to check in to our room 3 hours before as room was ready and this at no extra cost. The hotel is close to Van Gogh Museum, I AMSTERDAM sign and much much more, great restaurants, bars and shopping close by, particular for those love their designer wear.

We had a double room but hotel offers larger rooms for large groups, you get many foreign students stopping looking for a good weekend, no problems, everyone is there to enjoy themselves.

Would I stay there again, most defiantly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie_r251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#314 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Property: Hotel Van Gogh
Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,213 - ₹ 17,584
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing