We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
180
54
24
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
54
24
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews window shutters metro station ipad controls the ground floor bar impressive hotel body wash short weekend toilet room city centre parking garage loved this hotel breakfast service comfortable bed building work rooms are clean sky bar stayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We loved our time at the QO. Great staff, especially Ryan. Loved the greenhouse on the top floor and the bar with views over the city. Loved the shower and choice of products in two scents! Super convenient to get into town via metro. And super convenient to get to our highlight of the trip - Adam’s Boats, which you can rent for small groups (we were 4) and drive yourself through the canals. Also loved the dual purpose cow steaks which were delicious.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view towards the city
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ElysiumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QO_Team, Marketing Executive at QO Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

More than happy to hear you’ve had a lovely time at the QO and enjoyed the different aspects of our ‘living’ building.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Groet,

Tristan
QO Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3rd August - 5th August

Having landed in Amsterdam at 8am we arrived at the hotel early at around 10am... after this it went from bad to worse!!

We arrived in a group of 5 and a female member of staff tried to check us in after waiting in the que for around 20 minutes (be prepared to que every time you wish to use the reception)
There were 5 people in my group and we had booked 3 rooms- she took one name (despite us telling her we wanted to use three names one per room!) and put it down for all 3 rooms and then told us to leave a €150 deposit per room, we paid on a 3 separate cards!! Despite us WRITTING DOWN OUR OWN NAMES AND BOOKING UNDER OUR NAMES THEY STILL MANAGED TO GET OUR NAMES WRONG ON THE BOOKING SHEET!! We did ask if we needed to all sign a document per room but were told that it was fine and we only needed one document with one signature for all three rooms (we also told her the name was wrong but she ignored us)

After all this (it’s been about 35mins by this point) we were told that check in would be at 3pm however we would be allowed to check in EARLY and at the latest 3pm!! When we came back at 2:30 we were told we couldn’t check in till 3pm by a male member of staff despite us telling him we had been told earlier we could check in early- he then attempted to find the bookings but couldn’t THIS WAS BECAUSE THE WOMEN HAD WROTE DOWN HER OWN VERISON OF THE NAMES RATHER THAN THE ONES WE GAVE HER! After eventually locating the booking sheet he informed us that ‘only one room has been booked’ this was because once again the earlier women who saw to us had failed to give us the documents for the other 2 rooms!! This could have been avoided had the original member of staff who saw us in the morning had managed to just do her job properly (it gets worse however!!!)

So we eventually managed to check in and go to our rooms for about 3pm and the next few days went off uneventfully

** It should be noted the hotel itself is lovely! And deserving of its 4.5 Star rating everything about the building itself is amazing!**

However on the last night the fire alarm was triggered and the building was evacuated... or it was meant to however THE ALARMS ON OUR FLOOR WORK SO WE DIDNT KNOW!! (the rooms are soundproofed so you can’t hear the alarms on the other floors!!) Had it been a real fire people genuinely could have been killed and we only found out there was a fire when our friend on the other floor called us to ask where we were as he was stood outside with the others!!

When we raised the issue of the fire alarm to staff they laughed at us and told us ‘it was a false alarm’ which is not funny as like mentioned had it been legitimate people would have been killed

When we checked out the day after our problems continued!! We tried to check which went okay and left the hotel...

When on the way to the airport we checked our bank balances and found out our cards had been charged the deposit (which was correct) but we had also been charged £300+ Which had no explanation! When we raised this issue with the staff they had no idea either and the manager assured us he would PERSONALLY assure we got the money back!! (this was 6 days ago and have received no money back!)

We phoned the hotel to ask and as of yet have received no explanation as to why the money is leaving our accounts and have had to block the cards to ensure no further money leaves the accounts!
We also have been charged £5 for calling the hotel just to speak to someone!! which we will be demanding back!

This is totally out of order and the hotel need to look at themselves and their staff as they are poorly trained and incompetent and unable to offer explanations as to why our cards are being used when we are no longer in the hotel or even in the country!!

Will not be going back and would strongly recommend against going!! If you do however decide to risk the hotel make sure you check your card balance constantly or pay in cash to be safe however if you do pay in card I wouldn’t hold your breath waiting for a refund!!

Awful customer service and ruins an amazing hotel- SORT IT OUT AND REFUND OUR MONEY

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
6  Thank GNH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QO_Team, Marketing at QO Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Our apologies for the inconvenience and we are sorry to read that we were not able to deliver fully up to your expected standards.

We would like to speak to you directly in regards to this matter. Kindly reach out to us via hallo@qo-amsterdam.com, providing your booking number, so we can investigate this matter so we can provide you with a solution.

Regards,

Sophie


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The hotel was absolutely beautiful and looked fantastic. However on arrival on the morning of the 3rd August we tried to check in and leave our bags. After waiting in a ridiculous queue - which we noted happened every time we needed to speak to reception - we gave the booking name. This then became confusing as the woman who we were dealing with changed my friends name (there were 3 rooms and 5 people) to a mixture of both mine - as I booked it - and his, then it was changed to a name that wasn't his at all despite him writing it clearly on a document. This became the name on each room and took over the booking. At this time we had to give a deposit of €150 per room. However now, on the 10th August the money for all three rooms has not been refunded but is still outstanding as a charge. To make things worse, the money that came out of my friends account constituted an extra £80.37 from which came no explanation from the manager. My friends card had not been put on the room and no charge could be added to the room as using the hotel bar etc had to be paid for there and then. This money was assured to be returned to his account as the manager said he would do this personally. All taxes were paid on check out in cash or via different cards.
Things became more confusing at 2:40 pm when we tried to check into our rooms. The name confusion lead to the man who served us being unable to find the documents as we had not been given two extra pages to sign. We were then told (only 20 minutes before initial check in) that only two of the rooms were ready. This was inconvenient as prior to this we had been assured we would be put in the fast lane for our rooms to be cleaned and ready later in the early afternoon. However this had still not been done twenty minutes before the official time. On asking as to why, the colleague dealing with us said 'its not ready and that is that, there is NOTHING I can do' which was quite rude and abrupt. However 30 seconds later her produced 3 sets of rooms keys without any problem. This was quite irritating as we had already had to hang around waiting to sort out our booking. We received no apology for the confusion or for the fact we had to wait around without any explanation. There was also no apology for the additional money that came out of the friends account and no explanation as to why our money has still not been refunded. It was such a shame as it put a dampener on a fabulous holiday and ruined the hotel experience due to inadequate staff and lack of customer service.
Unfortunately this isn't even a one off case. As my boyfriends sister travelled to Amsterdam at the beginning of July this year. It has been a month since she has returned and her boyfriend has still not received his deposit back. There has been at least 3 calls to the hotel from home, which has cost her quite a bit of money, and still the matter remains unresolved. Clearly this hotel feel they are able to take money without any explanation or regard for their customers.
Both our booking and my boyfriends sisters were booked through the Last Minute website.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genavieve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QO_Team, Marketing at QO Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Genavieve,

Our apologies for the inconvenience and we are sorry to read that we were not able to deliver fully up to your expected standards.

We would like to speak to you directly in regards to this matter. Kindly reach out to us via hallo@qo-amsterdam.com, providing your booking number, so we can investigate this matter so we can provide you with a solution.

Regards,

Sophie


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

This hotel is brilliantly situated minutes walk from metro to take you into the city. Hotel is fab beautifully presented comfortable bed gorgeous shower and amazing views. Great for the technology freeks. We had an amazing stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank realmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QO_Team, Marketing Executive at QO Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Such lovely compliments, thank you so much!

It really is great to hear that your QO experience was amazing and we hope to see you again in the future.

Groet,

Tristan
QO Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

I liked the menu selection, the food quality and the drinks a lot. The rooms are beautiful and the beds excellent. It only takes a few minutes to the city center and the distance to the airport is reasonable. For me, a great experience to stay at the QO for both reasons leisure and business.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PhilLong2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QO_Team, Marketing Executive at QO Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

So happy to hear you've had great experience at the QO and our restaurant Persijn.

Looking forward to welcome you again at the QO.

Groet,

Tristan
QO Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews