We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, Very, very nice! Like a star restaurant without the fuss and the expense,”
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Reserve with
Zaza's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 3,907 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 41 - US$ 70
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very, Very, very nice! Like a star restaurant without the fuss and the expense,”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We went back after months, when we had a really nice dinner for 6 arranged at the last moment. All new dishes on the menu, how beautiful. Zaza's is like a star restaurant without the fuss and the expense, not your standard menu. We had already decided from the menu on the facebookpage (restaurantzazas) for lots of oysters and we had sea bream and my friend had the veal.

Perfect service and all, you can see it isnt just business to them, they love to run the restaurant as much as wel love to go there. We'll be back more often!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    246
    57
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
spenspen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Erm...It was ok to quite good”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Hi, Well a lovely place but not deserving of the oh so many American review (the thing you have to watch out for on TA when looking at restaurants) ratings. This is difficult to write as so many things were really good but others I just could not understand, what also makes this hard is that the owner is and was SO NICE, she really made an effort but alas that's where it went a little wrong for us...ok first the good stuff...
1. The ambience
2. The food (all but partners main course)
3. The polite staff
The not so good...
1. Sorry owner but you need to relax, you tried far too hard
2. Distance from other tables....far too close
3. Menu....layout did not match how great the place looks
4. MAIN thing....The reason I did not tip was that the service was very slow, too slow, a family of 4 sat down 15 mins after us, a couple 30 mins after us, they all not only had orders taken before us but also all had starters served before we had our order taken!!!! not nice and not appreciated.
5. Partners main course was not hot and my fish was over cooked (but still tasty)

I guess I find it hard to write a review like the one above, I wanted to LOVE this place after all the great reviews and a place like this takes me time to save up for, the owner was great but i'm sad to say the place just didn't deliver and that was a very expensive (152 euro's - a lot for us) visit for us.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spenspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We visited Zaza's after reading Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Being late diners we strolled in at 9:45pm and were greeted by a very exciteable and friendly lady. She persisted to take our coats and sat us down. We were promptly apporached by another waiter who took our drinks order. Upon placing our order for mains, the lady returned with a complimentary canopy consisting of goats cheese and beetroot - beautiful. Following this she brought us freshly cooked bread with a homemade dressing - this time at a surcharge. The main course was very well presented (we both had rib eye steak) with no attention to detail missed, including green beans wrapped in parma ham and a cheese filled onion. I would highly recommened to visit Zaza's if you are staying in Amsterdam. Although a bit pricey, the service is next to none and the food is exceptional.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stumbled upon Zaza's when we first arrived in Amsterdam and it has since become our local and remains our favourite. The excellent menu changes with the seasons and always has so many good options it is hard to choose, but once the food comes out it never disappoints! The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and the service puts many other places in Amsterdam to shame.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ausswedams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Served as a king”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I went to Zaza's while walking with a friend in De Pijp. From outside, I did like the warm inside ambiance, a look at the menu finished to convince me: a clever mix between West-South Europe tradition and fusion.
The veal was perfectly cooked (and it's not an easy job), wine list in line with the dishes and a very pleasant service. The queen and her crew are delightful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing