We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is an attractive, spacious hotel that faces the river Maas. It's well worth the extra cost to upgrade to a river view room with a spectacular view of both the river and the old quarter of the city on the other side. The hotel has a very nice patio facing the river with tables for coffee and dining. The dining room abuts this area and also faces the water. The breakfast and meals were okay. Service was very gracious at dinner albeit very slow. The upgraded room was quiet, comfortable, clean and a decent size with good bathroom although the bed was lumpy and sagging. The hotel is a short walk from a nice shopping street and in the opposite direction, from the old quarter on the opposite side of the river.

The hotel service is not great, however. A large group of us checked in with only two clerks at the desk. There is no concierge in this hotel and the desk clerks do everything including answering questions and answering the phone so checking in and out can be a slow process. The next day, a male clerk at the desk was surly when asked the location of an elevator. However, the hotel's good location, nice outside patio and lovely view from the room compensated for these problems.

Room Tip: River view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duxburygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 342 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Business travel takes me to Maastricht at least once a year. The Crowne Plaza is a convenient walk from the train station and well situated to walk along the Meuse or around the older part of the city. The hotel has clean, good-sized rooms. There are several good restaurants within a block.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_from_St_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in late August 2012. The first few days northern Europe was gripped in a heat wave and this city was no exception. The hotel had little capacity to deal with the heat, but neither did any other facility including the convention center (MECC). That said, once the temperatures became more seasonable I can say the hotel is very nice and met all my expectations including clean, nicely located right on the river with bike/walkway right out front and a great grocery store right behind. The location is close to most everything and I had a nice 2 km walk to conference center everyday along the river and dedicated walkway/cycling path. i would stay here again and preferably when temperatures were more moderate!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Mine room overlooked check-in area and smokers congregate outside front doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at the CP Maastricht with friends as part of a holiday touring Holland. We were extremely pleased with our rooms, which were very well appointed, with good bathrooms,and fantasic views over the river outside. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of food, both hot and cold. Rooms were air conditioned which assured a good night's sleep in the exceptionally hot weather we experienced whilst there.The hotel is well placed for seeing all of Maastricht's sights and the old town centre, where there are many shops,restaurants and bars. I can also recommend the Tourist Information office which was very helpful.
The reasons I have not made this a 5 star review are as follows:

The internet price did not include taxes, so our final bill was 60 euros more than expected. I am aware that the internet quote did say, in very small print,that taxes were excluded, but this was the only hotel on our tour where the quoted price did not match the final bill. I would strongly suggest that internet prices are adjusted to include the tax.

We booked a Bildeberg deal which included a three course dinner. There is no hint on the hotel website that this was a 'special' menu, outside of the normal restaurant choices.We were presented with a four course menu with only one choice per course (the fourth course charged at 9.5 euros!).The waitress offered a choice of aperitifs verbally, with no indication of prices, and we found when the bill was presented, that two glasses of sparkling rose wine cost 8 euros each!
Our total bill , for drinks only, ended up being not much less than we had paid in restaurants in the town centre on the two previous evenings. Also, the service was appallingly slow, with our three courses taking almost three hours to be served.

We enjoyed Maastricht enormously, it has loads to offer, and we could happily return to see the sights we missed this time, but sadly our visit was marred by the issues regarding billing and the so-called inclusive meal. If Crowne Plaza could be a bit more transparent they would be on to a winner. With this location and city, it is hard to fail.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nootychoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear nootychoo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you are pleased with your room. On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the internet charge and the three course dinner. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. However, these issues will be looked into as I have also taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Big (and great..!) hotel in Maastricht on the banks of the Meuse. In the neighbourhood of the hotel are many nice and good restaurants and special shops. On the other side of the river is the old center of Maastricht (about 5-10 min walk).
We had a deluxe club room with a comfortable bed. There was a sitting area in the room and a desk. There was also plenty of storage space. The bathroom was unfortunately rather small and sober. We had to shower in the bath. We parked the car in the adjacent P-garage for € 22 per day. On the day of check out we could leave the car all day long!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 km away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.6 km away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,336 reviews
1.5 km away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,159 reviews
1.0 km away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,391 reviews
0.5 km away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: ₹ 7,443 - ₹ 21,408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing