We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent with odd twists” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very pleasent with odd twists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for one night on business, the first thing is that the hotel is quite mad.

I could not adjust to my room having an open plan BATHROOM! Yep, there was no wall on the bathroom/toilet. So you pretty much shower and "use the facilities" in your bedroom. This was fine for a solo traveller but for a couple I’m not sure it works at all.

Excellently located close to the rail station and down town.

The staff were very good and I loved the art-deco touches in the communal areas. I would stay here again, but not in an open plan room if I had the choice.

Room Tip: Avoid open plan craziness
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn76M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterdBeer, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your opinion about our "open plan craziness". We must admit, our hotel is not your ordinary hotel, but so much more fun! For your next stay you do have a choice, we also have nice designrooms with regular, closed bathrooms.

Best regards,
Peter de Beer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    524
    204
    80
    18
See reviews for
109
705
21
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was at the hotel for 3 days during the Utech conference. the hotel is well located, close to the Maastricht station. For Utech visitors it is ideal as teh station is close and the bus comes to teh hotel to pick you up in the morning and drop you in the evening. Rooms are stylish but have no desk and chairs. you need to ask them and during conference times you might get unlucky and then work on your bed... internet is free of wharge ( wifi) but when the hotel is busy it is very slow! Breakfast is average. the Flo brasserie of the hotel is very good (french cuisine) but not cheap at all.

Room Tip: Go to the Wen Chow restaurant in front of the train station. Excellent Cantonese food. Otherwise the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleykouassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterdeBeer d, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you very much for your positive remarks and constructive feedback. In our basic rooms we have a concept with no desk and no large cupboards to make optimum use of the space. On request we do provide these. I am sorry about the slow wifi at peak times. Normally it runs well, so we will look into that. I hope to see you again in our hotel and I will gladly upgrade you to a nice room with desk and everything!
Kind regards,
Peter de Beer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Good hotel, the staff is very charming. I was there only for one night on a business trip and i felt very relaxed in the morning. I would recommend it for a fast business trip but not for a family stay. i know my wife wouldn't appreciate the environment and the lack of some of her favorite amenities hence that day she stayed in Brussels while i took a driver service (www.belvedere-limousines.be) to Maastricht and they managed to give me a Mercedes and a driver for 150 euros. It was really safer than traveling with train. But for those who wish, this hotel is located very close to a train station. This is maybe the reason why they choose some elements in the decoration. It is a unique concept, not every body will like it, but for a one night traveller it is ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterdeBeer d, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Peter de Beer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Good rooms, excellent location, fair prices. Ladies @ breakfast are very friendly. The attached restaurant, Brasserie Flo, is really nice. Great 3- course dinner deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hastens bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Original hotel, wouldn' call it design but original. A bit noisy because of the locatio near the railwaystation. We had a room under the roof in March, so we opened the window at night no airco), 5 am in the morning a lot of noise from the railwaystation. Breakfast was ok in a pleasant surrounding.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jer0enBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 km away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 km away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.3 km away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.5 km away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Property: Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,721 - ₹ 12,876
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing