We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
50
52
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
52
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink guard house late at night historic building small hotel this lovely hotel central area standard hotel would highly recommend this hotel student city great place to stay grote markt canal centre parking desk university
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Good location near centre of city, of renovated old building, with spacious, quiet rooms (dark in winter, as they are sparingly lit), with the essentials to sleep well and do some work; bathroom is functional;very nice breakfast in cozy dining room; very pleasant service; affordable

Room Tip: my room was on street side and still was quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vughtenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

This hotel is situated in a 17th century historical building and is very charming. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the lounge is welcoming. I would highly recommend this hotel and there are really no downsides. If any, then the fact that it is an old building, and though recently renovated, makes it a bit noisy due to traffic. However, this never bothered me, for the atmosphere and the staff are first class. A perfect place to start your exploration of Groningen.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolandevdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Spent one night here when visiting a friend and found it to be more than worthwhile!

The reception was very friendly and welcoming, eager to learn where people were from and kindly offering a welcome drink. Beautiful building and right next to Ossenmarkt parking, in a very central area in Groningen. Everything is at walking distance, which is great. Room was gigantic, as was the bathroom. Bed supercomfortable. There were some noises from the street late at night but that must be expected knowing that Groningen is a popular student city.

We skipped breakfast and would recommend to do the same; 15 euro for a broodje kaas is a bit on the high side and there are plenty of nice and easygoing breakfast places nearby (offering breakfast for under 10 euro, such as Pigalle). The only thing I would put as a minor point for improvement was the size and amount of towels - there was one smallish one for each person and one handtowel. Bit stingy for 125E/night but oh well, we survived and I've had a lot worse for that price

All in all great place to stay for one or more nights to explore Groningen!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank doortje_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This family run hotel is perfectly located a short walk to the University and the town centre. Located by the canal in a beautiful old building, it is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in.
When we arrived, we found that you check in at the bar. We were given a big welcome by Bart and offered a complimentary drink. We chose a very nice glass of red wine.
We went to our room via a red circular stair case. (Don't worry! There is a lift!)
Our room (No.1) was huge. A real flame effect fire was glowing in the old marble fireplace. Two comfortable leather armchairs and a coffee table were on one side if the large comfy bed. On the other side sat a large glass desk, complete with chair and lamp for anyone needing to do a bit of office work. Good free WiFi is available too.
Also sitting in the main room is a huge bath! Ideal for a romantic getaway ad it easily fit two! Both shower and toilet were in separate cubicles. A large double wash hand basin completed the room.
Our view was out over the street with large privacy blinds ensuring we were not overlooked by the opposite window. We had an excellent nights sleep and were not disturbed in any way from either the hotel or street.
For breakfast there is a choice of a buffet breakfast or a 'small' breakfast. We opted for the small, which was excellent and cost €8.75. Two warm crisp breadrolls, ham, cheese, strawberry jam and butter arrived with a large glass of fresh orange juice and a soft boiled egg. Tea or coffee accompanied this very satisfying meal.
Checkout is a very relaxed 12 midday. We checked out at 11.
Special mention must be made of the staff. Need to leave your suitcases while you explore after checkout? No problem. Need a taxi booked for travel to the train station? No problem. Need information on where to visit or eat? No problem!
Staff are young, professional and happy in the work. We left feeling valued as guests. Not just a room number.
This place is a little gem. We fully intend to return in the new year as one day in this lovely hotel and city was not enough!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

This lovely hotel right by the canal and near the main street and university buildings was a great find. Super friendly and helpful staff, a 'welcome drink' from their great menu in the cozy bar/coffee, beautiful unique rooms. Very spacious and clean, and best of all it's a block off the main street so it's quiet at night whereas other hotels in town are on the main street (hard to sleep with the loud nightlife). Highly recommended for business, family or romantic stay!

Room Tip: Each room is different, but they all seem great (I saw 3)
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zekebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews