We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
378
177
29
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
177
29
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laundry room great hotel free upgrade table tennis complete silence funky hotel great concept city centre small details relaxed vibe rooms are spacious room key up to date nespresso machine walking distance a great stay excellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We had a great time in the hotel: nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and great location. We were even able to check in earlier. You have a different feeling in the Hotel, because you share the public spaces with students who REALLY live in this building.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmeyer143776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionTSH, Front Office Manager at The Student Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi!

This really makes my morning. How great that you could check in before 15:00. That is always a good way to start your day!

We are looking forward welcoming you again in the future.

Happy Travels,
The Student Hotel Groningen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I thought this would be like a studentdorm, but it turned out to be a vibrant place, full of design and perfect rooms. The beds were good, the restaurant very pleasurable. I loved all the different corners and working spots.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mslege840246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionTSH, Front Office Manager at The Student Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. This is exactly why sharing your experience is so important because sometimes the name of the hotel can be a bit confusing. Everyone is a student and therefore everyone is welcome with us!

Untill next time?
The Student Hotel Groningen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

My Family and me had a great time in Groningen.Very cool Location in a very cool town!The Hotel is packed with young People and it is great fun to stay there.Hope to come back soon, we completely recommend this place!Martin

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mwollenhaupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionTSH, Front Office Manager at The Student Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi there,


Thank you for your kind words!

We would love to see you and your family again.

The city isn't outlived either, there is still a lot more to experience and explore here!

We hope we can make your next stay unforgettable.


Safe travels,
The Student Hotel Groningen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We do appreciate the concept and therefore expected a nice stay in the Student Hotel Groningen.

Unfortunately we had to stay in a dirty room for one night, that even after a second cleanup, that the receptionists had arranged, was really very unpleasant.

After we entered the room there were a few things we could see immediately and could therefore be more or less resolved by the housekeeping:

- dirty socks from earlier guests on the floor
- dirty toilet (not 100% cleaned after second turn of cleaning)
- dust on all shells
- floor not cleaned (did not change, because no vacuum cleaner had been brought)

But there were left some really bad problems that we noticed only when coming back to our room for sleeping:

- the mattress cover was terribly dirty (hairs, brown and yellow stains of undefined source and crumbs - the reason why we did raise the sheets)
- The mattress has not been raised for a while. That’s why we did find a severe amount of dust bunnies and dirt under the bed.
- the whole floor and especially our room smelled musty

We are quite sure that the staff tried as its best to handle the situation. But considering other reviews of guests who had the same experience in the past, the housekeeping seems to be overwhelmed and would need some reorganization.

We hoped our complaint could help the hotel management to avoid similar situations in the future. But up to now we did not receive any anwser to our messages.

+ concept (modern, young, dynamic)
+ central location
+ staff is friendly

- housekeeping / cleaning
- complaints management
- noisy (banging fire protection doors, party zone is heard up to the upper floors)

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Claus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionTSH, Front Office Manager at The Student Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi Claus,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Reading your review makes me very sad and I am therefore glad to hear that our manager has reached out to you shortly after your check out date.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

Enjoy your weekend.

Kindly,
TSH Groningen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Good location near to the city centre en UMCG. Very busy with students compared to earlier visits, but that is not a problem at all.Good breakfast, friendly staff. I would recommend this place when staying in Groningen.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anoniem188572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionTSH, Front Office Manager at The Student Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi there,


Thank you for your review and recommending us!

If the students make it to busy for you, then I would recommend to come visit us again in July/August. There are more choices in roomtypes as well around that time. :)

If you have no problem with them, then you can come visit us the whole year around off course.

We hope to see you next time!


May the student in you live forever,
The Student Hotel Groningen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews