We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Country Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birgham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haymount Birgham Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Birgham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A hidden gem for bed & breakfast. Gill and David are the perfect hosts and many other owners could learn a lot from there customer service. The whole house is centally heated and always warm. The rooms are newly decorated and furnished. The Cheviot room has a massive double (or two single beds) which is exceptionally comfortable with great pillows. It has an ensuite with bath and shower and again newly decoarated and fitted out. Tea and coffee available in the room with fresh milk plus biscuits. The room is spotlessly clean and the area is very quiet at night - little traffic on the road.. You have an LCD tv/dvd on the wall with access to freeview channels. Their is also a guest lounge again with an LCD tv and dvd/ video player. The lounge also has a natural fire which can burn logs in the winter. Breakfast is served in the lounge and is very good. You have the choice of a full Scottish breakfast(freshly made and very hot) plus cereals, porrage, juice toast of different breads, jams, yogurt and tea/coffee. Parking is off the road. Do not take dogs
There is a village pub the Fisherman's Arms just down the street that serves very good meals in its restaurant - not pub grub.

Definately a place to stay when in the area and you want a very confortable and friendly B&B and only a few miles from Kelso and Floors castle. Enjoy your stay we certainly did thanks to Gill and David.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

One of the best B&Bs we've stayed in (and we travel a lot!). Very friendly couple Gill & David gave us a warm welcome - immaculately clean - super comfy BIG bed and quality breakfast. A beautiful house with bags of character. An added bonus was the private lounge so we could relax and watch tv in comfortable armchairs instead of perched on the bed. This was a short business trip but we would happily come back again for a leisure break. Well done folks 5 Stars from us!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at this delightful B&B enroute to Scotland from The Midlands. Clean, fresh, comfortable, homely, friendly....all the essential requirements of an overnight stay are here. There's even a log-burning stove in the cosy guest lounge where you can relax and unwind. Haymount would also make an ideal base for a longer stay as there are lots of places of interest in the area and the pub next door serves excellent food after a day exploring. BIG thanks to Gill & David the perfect hosts!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeNo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I really can't fault this wonderful little bed and breakfast that we stayed in earlier this week. David and Gill excel themselves on all counts: delicious breakfast (it kept us going all day whilst on the bikes), immaculate accommodation with excellent en-suite rooms. What really made it for us was the fact that Gill and David know and love what they are doing - they had made sure there is everything a person might need - including a bot water bottle (we did use since the nights were chilly). The pub is a stroll away and after dinner we put our feet up in front of the wood burning stove in the guests lounge. Bliss....a little gem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill112, Owner at Haymount Birgham Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. It's very important to us that our guests are comfortable. We're glad you found everything in the rooms that you needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just had a great weekend and really lucky to stumble upon this b & b it had only opened recently and we were one of the first guests - we would certainly come back

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Haymount Birgham Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymount Birgham Bed and Breakfast

Address: Haymount Haymount Main Street, Birgham, Coldstream TD12 4NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Coldstream > Birgham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Birgham
Price Range: ₹ 3,443 - ₹ 5,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymount offers one en-suite twin bedded room and one double en-suite room and use of our cosy guest lounge. A full cooked Scottish breakfast is included in the room rate. Located between Coldstream and Kelso and just a 5 minute walk from the magnificent River Tweed. Ideal for walkers, fisherfolk, cyclists and those who enjoy the countryside and Scottish Border history. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing