We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Gluten Free!”

The Artisan - Kitchen and Urban Garden
Ranked #69 of 2,142 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 62
Description: The Artisan - Kitchen & Urban Garden is named after the teams appreciation for artisanal growers, suppliers and producers and the community gardens that we share with local residents. The Artisan is a lively neighbourhood restaurant, a green oasis in Zürich, Wipkingen. A place where everyone can meet to share beautiful moments and enjoy great food with friends or family, every season of the year in a relaxed and informal setting. They serve simple, thoughtful soul food, which has been made with care from fresh, natural and wholesome ingredients. Honest cooking with international flair, locally inspired by the nature from their own garden and the surrounding farms, forests and fields.
Restaurant details
Description: The Artisan - Kitchen & Urban Garden is named after the teams appreciation for artisanal growers, suppliers and producers and the community gardens that we share with local residents. The Artisan is a lively neighbourhood restaurant, a green oasis in Zürich, Wipkingen. A place where everyone can meet to share beautiful moments and enjoy great food with friends or family, every season of the year in a relaxed and informal setting. They serve simple, thoughtful soul food, which has been made with care from fresh, natural and wholesome ingredients. Honest cooking with international flair, locally inspired by the nature from their own garden and the surrounding farms, forests and fields.
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Went here for their gluten free options and was not disappointed. Almost everything on the menu, including their pizza, was labeled as gluten free.

The gazpacho and the falafel were amazing. Most of the desserts were also gluten free/ vegan.

A bit out of the way for tourists but would highly recommend for anyone with dietary restrictions

Thank Shelby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtisanZH, Owner at The Artisan - Kitchen and Urban Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Shelby M

Thank you so much for your positive review and reccomendation. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with the gluten free selection. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon!
Best regards, Mark Thommen and The Artisan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Always really surprising, fresh and incredibly delicious food. Great with the whole family for Sunday brunch as well as for dinner with friends. Will go back for more soon!

Thank malpurami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtisanZH, Owner at The Artisan - Kitchen and Urban Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Malpurami
Thank you so much for your positive review about our fresh and delicious food. It's much appreciated! We hope to see you again soon for brunch or dinner.
Best regards, Mark Thommen and The Artisan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

The Service is excellent, the atmosphere is astonishing the food delicous also recomended for vegetarians

Thank marcomaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtisanZH, Owner at The Artisan - Kitchen and Urban Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear marcomaier

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food so much and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards, Mark Thommen and The Artisan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We came to eat dinner on a Tuesday night around 8pm. We were a group of 7 with no placed reservations ahead of time but they were able to accommodate us after only a half hour wait. We had the root vegetable chips to share among the table and it was delicious! I had their white wine and bacon cheeseburger and it was honestly the best burger I have ever tasted so far. They have plenty of gluten free and vegan options, and I had the mango sorbet for dessert which was also fantastic. The place had a very '2017 hipster vibe', and was decorated with living plants hanging from the walls and ceiling. You can definitely tell how fresh everything is after the first bite; They have their own restaurant garden which you can see from the inside eating area. Food was beautifully presented and came hot. If I am ever in this area again I will definitely come back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtisanZH, Owner at The Artisan - Kitchen and Urban Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Hannah

Thank you so much for your positive review and for sharing your appreciation. It's a great motivation for our team. We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and would be delighted to welcome you another time if you are in the area again.

Best regards, Mark Thommen and The Artisan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Always fresh, beautifully presented delicious seasonal dishes. Their menu offers a great selection of wines and unique spirits. Great service, great location and great ambience. All in one place!

Thank Fini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtisanZH, Inhaber at The Artisan - Kitchen and Urban Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Fini C

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, service, location and ambience and look forward to to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards, Mark Thommen and The Artisan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Artisan - Kitchen and Urban Garden also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to The Artisan - Kitchen and Urban Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing